2 more days


Advertisement
Published: June 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Everything is moving so fast. My week here in Minnesota is rapidly coming to a close, a little faster than I would like it to, but I have managed to get almost everything accomplished. Here is a quick update for you all on what I have learned about my trip in the last week:

My placement- I'll be working at a health clinic called Los Licenciados. I'm afraid I am not entirely sure what I will be doing, something in the nature of shadowing physicians, blood draws, taking patients vital signs, measuring and weighing babies and accompaning the doctors on house calls to people outside of Ayacucho. I have been talking through email to previous interns and they all said that the longer you stay and the more willing you are to help, the more you will be able to do, including assisting in deliveries and some surgeries. More on my placement after my first day of work on Tuesday.

A typical day in Ayacucho looks like this-
work from 7-12 noon. Siesta and lunch from 12-3 (my favorite part) followed by cultural activities like guest speakers, cooking and salsa lessons or museum visits from 3- dinner. Our evenings and weekend are free to do what we please.

My flight leaves from MSP at 12 noon on Saturday. I have a layover in Atlanta and I arrive in Lima at 10:45 Saturday night. In Lima I'm meeting up with some of the other volunteers and interns at the airport. Our flight to Ayacucho leaves at 6 am Sunday with a 4 am check in. Sunday, we spend resting and acclimating to the altitude. Monday is a tour of the city and orientation before we start work on Tuseday.

That's about all I know right now. More to come when I arrive and get settled.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb