Did I say San Francisco? I meant Rhode Island.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota » Ramsey
October 15th 2010
Published: October 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well,

There has been a change of plans. For several reasons, mostly money-related, I have decided NOT to move to San Francisco for the winter, and instead, will move home to Rhode Island. I have lined up a job as an assistant at a physical therapy clinic in my hometown and will be starting that as soon I return. I have hopes to save up as much dough as I can, then hit the road to farm again in the spring.

Half of me is excited to move home, the other half, totally bummed. I will miss the farming lifestyle I have adapted to so well over the past year. I have become so accustomed to having all the fresh, organic fruits/vegetables/eggs/milk that I can handle at my fingertips. What will I do without goats or fresh chard or an endless supply of wildflower honey? I'll survive, I suppose, somehow. . .

On the other hand, I'm looking forward to baking more at home, spending time with my family and being right next to the OCEAN!

As far as my time at Garden Farme goes, it has come to an end. My last weeks here involved lots of winter preparation. We have been pulling crops that have gone to seed or died in the frost and prepping those beds for spring with manure and mulch, lots of mulch. Restaurant orders have slowed down with the end of the season, but those that are still ordering are getting prime mustards, arugula, horseradish, squash and kale. Yum.

The next two weeks will be spent on the road with an RI-arrival date of November 1st. Not sure my exact route, but I may be stopping in Chicago and Pittsburg, and definitely Delaware to see Emily and meet her precious baby, Noah.

I am unsure if I'll keep up the blog or not, or what will come of my plans for the spring, but you may see more of this in the future.. who knows!

Thanks for all your support throughout the year, xoxo.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



15th October 2010

I'm going to miss your adventures!
Probably not as much as you will, but I loved hearing about it, I still think you should write AT LEAST a local article about it for your paper!
16th October 2010

We have to Talk!
Megan, Too bad you have to leave Farm Life which you have surely taken to a new level, but You Will be Back at it Soon, I predict. Meanwhile, here at home, the winter pear tree has given a lavish harvest from which we will try to preserve some of the harvest for you to use for cooking. As for parsnips, we planted them, according to plan, in May, but have had massive crop failure. (Advice when you arrive back in RI). Are you going to be working @ Olympic? Vanderbilt? (Will probably be checking in with your Mom and Dad meantime for more details.
13th November 2010
Dead baby moles I found resting in the hay bale. I think they're cute, even if it's kind of sick.

OMG - awesome - yeah, in the kind-of-sick way. ask pete about my dead things photo addiction. ;)

Tot: 0.21s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 59; dbt: 0.072s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb