The Alpha


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota » Minneapolis
January 14th 2012
Published: January 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

First day of SchoolFirst day of SchoolFirst day of School

It's not the same as it used to be! I'm all grown up now!
In order to know how I have gotten to where I am now, we must first rewind.

Following closely in my Uncle's shoes, I have always had the travel itch. To go to new places, see all the sights, and most importantly, experience life as so few take the time to live it.

On a trip to Nicaragua in 2011, I met a man who simply asked "what is it you want to do every morning when you wake up?"

A fairly straightforward question that I had absolutely no idea how to answer. I knew bits and pieces of my ideal responce. I knew what I didn't want to do. But for the most part, I found it difficult to reply. The anxiety of being 26 and not knowing how to answer gave me good reason to sit down, think long and hard, and evaluate where I was in my life, and what it was that I wanted to get out of it.

I had been satisfied for five years as a costume designer. Some times were tough, some were prosperous. Each year I would save up for a few months, and then those dollars added up and started to burn a hole in my pocket. Each year, undisputed, I would find a reason to blow my savings on a trip.

With the debt of my 5 year private liberal arts education looming over me and dictating my every move, I realized that at some point I would need to become financilly responsible, and perhaps that meant not traveling. That idea alone seemed to suffocate the wanderlust inside of me. Suddenly that answer dawned on me. In order to satisfy my incessant wayfaring cravings, I would ultimately need to get paid to travel! How obvious!

But how?

I have friends who have been flight attendants, but I don't really have enough patience to deal with catering to most people. Rule that one out. What about a cruise ship? Decent pay(or more so perfect environment to save, save, save), numerous exotic locations, working unbearably long hours, being stuck on a boat for months on end, missing out on important life events of those I hold dear, and all to ultimately placate a select, priviledged, upper middle class goup of people? Not exactly my cup of tea. My credentials are solid-for a life in theatre, however my resume seemed to lack a chunck of important job rearing qualities.

This is obviously bigger than me. I need some help. So I do what every wayward 20-something does with big life questions, I turned to Google. As fate would have it, 'The Travel Academy' came up as one of the top hits for "travel and tourism programs", and just my luck-it happened to be located right here in the Twin Cities. The website seemed legit, the program appeared solid. But retiring from theatre was a terrifying thought and this decision in particular needed to marinate for a while before I commited to anything. So I request an information booklet, spend my summer weighing my possibilities, and come to the only conclusion: I have nothing to lose by attempting to better myself. Decision made: I'm going back to school.

Determined to follow through, the pieces fall into place and suddenly I am visiting with the president of the academy and before I know it, my future is changing before my very eyes. I accept the weighty fact that I am adding to my debt (but educational debt is good debt, right?) and begin the cumbersome attempt at balancing my life. Thinking about school supplies for the first time in years. Re-learning how to cram. Constant employment opportunity research. Endless gratitude to generous benefactors who see potential in my motivation and supported this fantastic venture.

Fast forward to today. First day of class. It's real. This is happening. My life is changing in a whirlind around me. Excited. Terrified. Ready for this welcome change.

Lawrence had taught me how to be the picture perfect student(among many other things). I intend on excelling at this entire endeavor. I may be a bit too eager in class, know just a bit too much, ask too many detailed questions, and readily interject when it may be inappropriate, but thats who I am. That is why this life change feels so right.

My time is now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb