Reality Kicks In!!!


Advertisement
Published: June 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The moment that I have been dreaming of for the past year has finally come! After endless days of work and study, it felt like this day would never arrive. Now it is finally here and I am wrapped up in a series of emotions that hit me like a roller coaster. At this immediate moment I feel anxious, excited, terrified but determined to plow through various obstacles.

When I think about it the length of this trip seems extreme, but at the same time it will pass quicker than I can comprehend, and already am dreading the day I fly home (especially since it will be during Minnesota's horrific winter - lets hope i'll enjoy the snow this time!

I expect this journey to be life changing. At this age I have been so lucky to have already had many experiences individuals may never get, therefore I will absolutely take advantage of any crazy opportunity that crosses my path - don't worry Mom i'll use caution like we talked about 😉! The first time I encountered South America I was revealed to a completely new reality. This place helped me understand what I wanted to do with my life and that for me, living isn't just designing a daily routine. The life I'm choosing to live, is one that leaves room for adventure after hard work, a life that allows me to see things people have never seen, and to walk paths that have never been stepped on. Of course I don't plan to convert into a Gypsy (but we never know what will happen do we) but I do plan to take a chance at any given moment.

During this trip I know it isn't a matter of if I become incompetent, its a matter of when! I say this because trying to adapt to a new country/culture/language is exhausting, and lets be honest, when a gal is traveling alone with no one to depend on, she only has a limited capacity! I have decided to make a travel lists to refer back to when my brain decides to stop working (Which, anyone who knows me well, understands that distractions or thoughts that no one can fathom occur daily!)

*List of "Do's and Don't do's"
1. Do not consume mixtures on the street that have a thick flemmy consistency (exception: If I'm ready to die due to the bite of mysterious creature or illness, drink what the witch doctor makes me, maybe the death will be quicker?)
2. Don't try to turn any wild animals into my personal domestic pet, unless I come across Dante in Argentina again.
3. At any given moment I sense major hostility towards North Americans, claim that I am Canadian or better yet proceed to be mute, smile and walk away!
4. I know Dulce de Leche is the best thing that ever happened, but take it easy!
5. EXERCISE - I CANT AFFORD A NEW FAT WARDROBE!!!
6. Regardless of time or location if I hear any enticing rhythm...DANCE! It is at utmost importance that I seriously shake it in the case that I may need a limb amputated due to the venom of a snake bite.
7. Let mama Linda know I am safe every chance I get, don't let more than a week go by 😊
8. Keep in contact with friends and family, the point will come when I can't stand technology but they are my support system, and life is pointless without these people!
9. When I am homesick and desperate to come home, grab a bottle of Malbec, and youtube Roseanne as a reminder to how god damn lucky I am!
10. Take lots of pictures and upload immediately - losing them would be devastating.
11. Now that i've chilled out on the Dulce de Leche, put DOWN the Milanesa!!!
12. Make friends with the Natives, I am hear to improve my fluency!
13. Spanish 90% of the time, English 10% only for serious situations if encountered.
14. Let the hot Latino romance me a little for shits and giggles, *Note: DON"T BUY INTO IT nothing serious, just fun!
15. Most importantly - I'm going to live this trip up to its fullest, by doing things I would never imagine doing, creating my own adventures and relaxing. Remember that things happen unexpectedly but as long as I have my health (credit cards and passport whew) its all good! Its crucial to immerse with the beautiful people and culture and teach them about mine.

Here I come South America, I hope you're ready!!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb