It's a Commencement of Sorts


Advertisement
Published: July 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I can't believe I'm here, at this point. After months of planning and dreaming, it's really happening. And I'm so excited and nervous and stressed I think I'm going to explode into a million pieces while doing a happy dance.

The Big and Exciting News of the Day:
I turned in my 2 weeks notice at work!!!!!

I am so excited I can hardly stand it. Oh, how I dreamed of this moment for years.... ahhh.
At first my boss didn't believe me. Then he did. Then he smiled and congratulated me. And asked about what I was going to be doing. Then we told my team lead and left him speechless--and he's never without something to say.

I have shopped myself silly buying deodorant and tampons. And clothes and gear for traveling around next summer. Would you believe I actually bought a Leatherman and hiking boots? Yes, me. Can I get you a cool, refreshing beverage while you sit and fan yourself for a minute?

In other news, I've packed 75%!o(MISSING)f my apt. The POD arrives tomorrow and is here for 3 days. Then next week I clean. It feels really weird in here. No dishes, no shoes, no plants, no books or movies. Just boxes and dust bunnies peeking out. I move in with Lulu for about 2 weeks before I head down to the parents for one more visit.

I'm making all sorts of last minute plans with people for one final time out. I need more hours in the day. I've planned the going away party, The Final Hurrah. I've planned and had my 30th birthday party.... a few months early. What can I say, I wanted to celebrate the milestone with people who have been with me since high school and college (or earlier!) and will most likely be with me in 30 more years. My best friend, Rose, even came up from Madison for the weekend. It was just a nice dinner out in uptown. One of the best parties I think I've ever had. Let's hope my going away is as fun and non-teary-eyed. But I'm not holding my breath on that last bit.

I haven't slept in days. I think I'm going to try for that tonight. Wish me luck.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb