What's old is...


Advertisement
Published: June 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Fully paved streets, unexciting but standard chain restaurants and stores, Target and Wal-Mart, people looking seemingly distinctly "Midwestern", skyscrapers - what's old is new again. As you have likely now guessed, I am home!

I know I have not written much in the last few weeks, and there is some reason behind it. Some of you who already know I am home will be aware but the reality is that my drive to keep exploring had started to hit a wall. This is, of course, on top of the reality that I was running out of things that I really wanted to see and do before I knew I was originally heading home. That said, I investigated the cost to change plane tickets and discovered that especially in light of what I would spend to be on the road and not be working in some capacity I would do well to return home. Therefore, a while back I changed my plane tickets and did the surprise with just about everybody to come home early. As those of you who know I'm home already know, I was successful in surprising many of you!

I can tell you that I do not regret for going for one second. The experiences I had, sites I saw, and hopeful future that will come from this adventure are all completely worth it. That said, there is definitely something to being home with friends, family, and familiar places. This is something I didn't foresee, being a little homesick, when I set out. I fully expected that I would be so busy seeing things and learning things that I would be sitting in the final days wishing I had more time, not the other way around! However, as part of the learning you also learn that when in a very different culture there is something that happens that is hard to put into words: the energy needed to keep "engaged" sometimes starts getting to override the sense of adventure. I don't think I am going to be able to fully explain it in this blog, but perhaps we can get together and while I share my 1000 plus pictures (I hear the sighes already by that!) I can better share that emotion in person.

One thing that is old but new again that is most satisfying to see is this: United States flags on the flagpoles and on the streets. Now, don't take this for me being "Mr. Patriotic" really so much as in seeing those flags, it is a very visible sign that - I'm home. Yes, seeing that flag is perhaps one of the big things that I didn't expect to really see in a different light and make me smile, but does. I also know that I'm seeing some things in a different light such as paved roads and my ability to drive a car easily (in the respect of street signs and being able to READ those signs quickly), not to mention just general shopping also help. Now, I don't say I see everything all in a good light, as when I walk Rosedale Mall and compare this display of wealth we enjoy to the poverty I saw at times not so long ago, it makes me reflect some on myself and sometimes what we take for granted. However, I have come to think that so long as we can appreciate what we have worked for and have (and perhaps that's our challenge) we don't necessarily need to feel "guilty". Again, one of those emotions and thoughts that are hard to fully put into words in a blog I'm really trying to keep short - but have written in more length about in my journal.

Anyway, it's now back to "re-acclimating" myself to life back home and start using what I've learned to continue on this new life - again to take me to "new places" like I set out to do three and a half months ago. It's good to be home, and I look forward to seeing more of you soon.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb