Rocking the Blogging World am I


Advertisement
Published: May 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi friends. I was told by the helpful automated e-mail confirming my sign-up at this site that if I don't have a real entry within 48 hours of creating my account, I will be removed from the system for fear I am a robot. But robots deserve to travel too.
SoI will provide you with a discourse on my travels, expanding on the little description above. The program I am embarking on is called Globalization and Resistance in Latin America; it is first and foremost a sociology class, focusing on the upheaval of Latin America and its indigenous populations. We will be doing a lot of community work, talking to administrators and government officials, etc, to learn first-hand about life in South America.
As part of the class we are required to have an internship. My top three choices were working for an environmental organization, working at a school with indigenous children, and something called, more or less in English, Revitalizing Quito. It is an organization focused on making the most economical and environmentally friendly use out of Quito's resources, natural and otherwise. this organization sponsors one weekend a month, for example, where Quito citizens are not allowed to drive in the center of the city, but must take bikes or walk for a more healthy alternative.
Finally, and probably the most exciting part, we will be staying with families. I remember my family from Spain so well and with such regard, I can't wait to see who I will be living with in Ecuador. I know I will be staying with a married couple who have three children, only one living at home. She is an architect and he is a plastic artest. I don't really know what that is, but I guess I will find out!
Well, I hope they are satisfied that I am, at the very least, an intelligent robot who doesn't plan on spamming the heck out of everyone and hacking into the IRS's archives. If I am still suspect, just ask my friends: I am more than just preprogrammed movements and a Stephen Hawking-esque voice.

Advertisement



29th May 2007

Great start!
I very much look forward to reading as much as you can share about your adventures. You're off to a great start. The lack of pictures is not a big deal since what we want to do through your blog is "see your adventures through your eyes!" This should be exciting.
29th May 2007

Thank you so much! I really appreciate you subscribing, it means a lot to me.
31st May 2007

DON'T LEAVE ME
*sobs*
1st June 2007

Aww Teresa, I will miss you so!
1st June 2007

Blog on, girl!
You can ignore my e-mail now that I know how to do this! Old dogs can learn new tricks, you know.
2nd June 2007

I love your subject. Ha! don't worry, it took me a few minutes to figure out this blog thing too. it's kinda confusing.
2nd June 2007

Can't wait!
Can't wait to read about your adventures! You rock!
3rd June 2007

Thanks Mama! I promise to be better at updating than when I was in spain.
4th June 2007

WOW!
Lauren, this all all sounds wonderful! The only two blogs I have really ever read, or had interest in reading, are your's and Katy's. I love reading your entries because you guys have a WONDERFUL writing style! Have an amazing trip!
8th June 2007

thanks Jenny! I really appreciate you reading this. LOL the other night i had a dream i went to new york to visit grad schools and we met at El Tren and had coffee. Haha!

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb