On The Shores of Lake Superior


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota » Duluth
July 6th 2007
Published: July 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Duluth

03Jul07

Rode back roads and secondary roads to Duluth. First thing I noticed is that I saw people cycling and running. This is great because quite often I would get a blank stare from hotel keepers when I asked is there anywhere I can go for a run? "Run away from whom?"

My hotel in DUluth is located next to the Spirit Mountain ski hill. It's only 6 miles from the centre of town and has a great view of the city from the skyline road 1/2 a mile away.

04Jul07
Went for a brief run (humidity is killer here) in the morning then went into town for the afternoon to take in the 4th of July festivities. The main stage located next to the water had a bunch of bands playing and I hung out there until the winds picked up and a thunder clouds started to form. I took off before it started to rain and watched the fireworks from the lookout near the hotel. From that vantage point I could see in the distance two other firework displays from neighbouring towns. There's no such thing as global warming...?


North SHore

05Jul07
Follow the north shores of lake Superior on my way to Grand Portage beside the Canadian border. 30 miles before reaching Grand Portage my luck ran out and it started to pour rain. I doubled back to Grand Mauris and hungout at a beautiful Best Western with a balcony facing the lake. The town has cool little shops and cafes to explore once the rain stopped and I had a great meal at the Crooked Spoon Cafe.

06Jul07
Managed to make it to Grand Portage today and checkout the national monument and recreated fort. Rode back down to Duluth and had to scramble to find accommodations. Duluth must be a popular destination during the weekends.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 59; dbt: 0.062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb