Final Chapter


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota » Apple Valley
November 9th 2010
Saved: February 12th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Well, it has taken some time of reflection but I think I am ready to write the final blog entry.

My journey home was a rocky one. I stayed up all night packing and cleaning my apartment the day before I was set to leave. I found I had far too many belongings to fit into the suitcases. I had to mail my excess by freight the morning I was set to leave. I went to James and Jen's one last time to return their scale and have some breakfast. They are awesome people and I hope to meet them again. I got to the bus station around 11, my flight was at 6. Apparently no buses leave from Gunsan for like a 4 hour block in the middle of the day. Looooong story short, I missed my flight. I was able to call the airport through the help of many friends and get my ticket switched for only $120 or so. I even got to stay in Seoul an extra night and serendipitously Tonya was in town as well. I got to stay at her hotel and we met up with a third Korean friend and had a grand time. I will say it was not trivial to meet up with her carrying 2 huge bulging suitcases and a carry on and a laptop bag while going on the subway. Next time I get a cab!

I arrived home to my friends the Lewiskis to greet me. I saw my mom soon after as well as Dave and Stan, the two cats that missed me terribly. I don't think anyone knows how to properly scratch Dave's head like me. I have spent the last few weeks exercising, sleeping a lot, job interviewing and socializing. I was able to attend the wedding of my great friends Rachel and Evan Horton which was magical. Now that I am here again I realized I love the US for everything that it is. The excess, the competition, the convenience, the vast distances between suburban sprawl...

I have grown to miss some things about Korea. Kind of a grass is always greener scenario. I will miss: the fantastic friends I met on my journey to the east. Both Korean and other parts of the world, I value each of you. The food, I learned so much culinarily while living in another country and really broadened my palette. The girls, where else are you going to see such a high percentage of beautiful Asian girls? You are sweet, candid and mysterious all of you! My students, I really admire your competitive hardworking spirit. I wish each of you the best in anything you do in the future. Many of you taught me as much as I taught you. Travelling, despite all of the difficulties in actually moving around this earth, the things you get to see while going are fairly phenomenal. Seoul, had fun every time...if ever I should return, it will be for Seoul.


So now where do I go? Well I am looking at building a career and a life here in Minnesota. I will take what I have learned abroad and apply it in all aspects that I can. I will always remember the experiences both strange and fantastic that I shared with the people of a warm and receptive country.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

16th November 2010

aww I made it into the final reflections! stay in touch!! :D

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb