The Beauty of Lake Superior


Advertisement
Published: August 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Going home


It is not down in any map; true places never are. ~Herman Melville




Pasty


As we were leaving Bayfield we spotted an old library and immediately thoughts of Carnegie came to mind, sure enough this indeed was a Carnegie Library. “Ole Andy” really did get around leaving a wonderful legacy to the people of our country. We were just in time for the Apostle Islands Cruise in northern Wisconsin. For two hours we saw and heard about the history of this National Lakeshore. Back on shore we headed for the Bothan to continue our drive to Michigan; we had parked under a tree seeking some shade. Well, as I slowly tried to avoid a car parked in front, I heard a crunching sound coming from the roof. The tree limbs were wedging themselves in the top of the RV. Assessing the situation, we discovered it would not be possible to pull forward or back without lots more damage to the body of the vehicle. What we needed was a saw to cut off one or two tree limbs. Explaining this in the town hall to the City Works Department was a hoot “My RV is stuck in a tree and I need a saw???”… What lady?? When all was said and done, Bayfield City Works came to the rescue and managed to cut just one tree branch and get us unstuck!! Thanks guys!
Driving along the highway we saw signs for PASTY’S. A pasty is a pie-like sandwich made with vegetables and meat and it was a favorite of the miners. Yes, Bob got one, and several frozen for another time. Onward and upward we entered Michigan’s Upper Peninsula and drove to Pictured Rocks Nat. Lakeshore, yet another boat ride on Lake Superior. Erosion has carved the rocks into wonderful shapes creating figures and images. After the boat ride, it was rather a long drive to the Mackinaw Bridge, which is one long bridge. We are now officially on our way home!



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Life! Life!
Life!

If you look close you will see that this tree put out roots from this pillar to the shore


26th August 2007

Michigan!!!!!!!!!!
I am so glad somebody finally travelled to michigan on here. I live my state and Im glad you enjoyed its splendid beauty.
22nd September 2010
Mackinaw Bridge

Vacation memories
Your picture looks exactly like one I took 8-18-2010 ,born in Marquette and moved away after back and fourths [sp] until I was 8 but still spent every summer till the age of 16 and then sadly my my daddy passed away and my next trip was 42 years later I often wonder how life would of turned out if the summers would of lasted but then I wouldn't have the family I have now and even Michigan can't compare with them .Thanks for all the beautiful pictures you took and for letting me bend your ear your pics brought many pleasures and memories
22nd September 2010
These caves are caused by the rough waters of Lake Superior

AWESOME
Alot of places I wasn't privleged to see personally but through your pictures I was THANK YOU BOTH VERY MUCH

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0669s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb