A bit about me


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Grand Rapids
November 26th 2005
Published: November 26th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I write this from the coffeeshop I work at downtown Grand Rapids. We're called Bitter End, believe it or not. Mocha in hand, I greet you who actually might read this with a smile. I've worked here our inaugural summer and somehow managed to keep the job while I'm still finishing up school this year. I'm a music education major at Grand Valley State University and I'm in my 5th year...the student teaching year. Right now my placement is in an elementary/general music classroom K-5 and for the winter semester, I'll be at East Kentwood High School with one of the choir directors there.

I'm a music person. Anyone else who considers themselves a "music person" will understand what I mean when I say that. Teaching music isn't just a job to me...it's a lifestyle.

I do love to travel, be it road trips to visit family and friends, college to college travel (most campuses are all unique), or overseas. I've visited Hawaii, Central Europe, Mexico, Canada, and in about 3 months, I'll be headed to South Africa for a while to stay and teach at Collegiate Girls High School in Port Elizabeth.

I have another online journal I rarely still post stuff on, but the link to that is Livejournal if you want to check it out. I'll post more later on this Travelblog. I'm just getting started with planning my time over there and I've been finding all sorts of links to stuff I should see and hear and taste and all that glory!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0908s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb