Final Blog


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » East Lansing
November 22nd 2005
Published: November 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

My early worries before the trip were baseless. While my usual planning was as helpful as always; Thailand was more than ready to open its arms to Colin and me. Perhaps even more than western Ireland, the Thai people displayed true hospitality and showed us that they were very happy to have us in their country. Thailand is a wonderful place.

Before we began planning this trip, Thailand, Bangkok, and Southeast Asia in general seemed like some of the most distant and exotic places on the planet. Movies I had seen (such as “The Beach”) combined with songs like “One Night in Bangkok” created an illusion of unpredictable dangers. In reality, Thailand, including Bangkok, seemed a lot safer than Chicago and I was underwhelmed by expected challenges. While the sex shows in Pat Pong, markets with counterfeit goods, and very spicy Thai food more than lived up to their reputations, the friendliness of the people and the ease with which we could communicate with them made everything go very smoothly.

Thailand continues to be an amazingly good value for the American tourist who is willing to put up with the 24 hours of travel from the Midwest. While the initial airfare may be high at $900, very low hotel, food, bar, shopping, and attraction costs make Thailand on par with a week in Florida and far cheaper than Hawaii or Europe. I certainly recommend it as a much more fascinating alternative to a cruise in the Caribbean or any other week long tropical vacation. Americans would be wise to follow the many British, Germans, Russians, Japanese, and Scandinavians who choose Thailand as their first choice among tropical travel destinations.

While I have yet to recover from jet lag, this trip has left me tanned, relaxed, thinner, and in very good spirits. I’m looking forward to Thanksgiving and then getting back to work. Where my world has seemed dull over the past few months, these past 10 days have really picked me up and hopefully will make a positive impact on my life this winter. If there is one thing I have learned from the Thais, it is to always keep a “cool heart” and “let things alone” that cause me grief. I believe this trip has made me a better person.

Colin and I have decided to return to Thailand within the next 10 years. In the meantime, we have a long weekend trip planned to Dublin in mid-February and will be celebrating New Years 2006 on Mackinac Island. Our next big trip in November 2006 will be to Peru to see Machu Picchu. Thanks to everyone who read this Travel Blog. The number of hits was far greater than I expected. Since this service is free, I encourage everyone to make use of it on your next trip. It’s a wonderful way for friends and family to share your experience and for you to record details about your trip that would otherwise be forgotten.

P.S. The Thai people hold Americans in high regard because of our kindness and generosity. I encourage everyone reading this to foster this person-to-person diplomacy wherever you travel by being very friendly with your hosts and generous to local charities. For example, the day we left Ko Samui, Colin and I gave 1000 Baht ($25) to the Samui Animal Shelter for the care of the many stray dogs that roam that island. In Thailand, this money will go much farther than it would if we brought it home with us. It produced both good karma for us and an even better reputation for our nation. Let’s share the wealth we enjoy as Americans.

Happy Thanksgiving Everyone!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb