Here we go


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Birmingham
December 28th 2010
Published: December 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Happy Holidays!
I am writing this first blog from my parents' dining room. After spending almost a full week of hanging out and catching up with friends and family, I am now finally getting my final preparations completed to leave tomorrow.
I fly out of Detroit tomorrow at 5:40pm. Layover in chicago for 7 hours to pick up my travelling/volunteering buddy, Margot (a great and dear friend). My mom already has said she might have to adopt her. I think because Margot has been doing a much better job at emailing out travel itinerary/info. Then we fly out of Chicago at 1am to Vietnam - oh yeah, with a 13 hr layover on new year's eve day in Korea. We are due to arrive at our destination in Da Nang on Saturday around 4pm. And I understand there are 12 hrs difference between there and east coast - altho, haven't figured out in which direction yet, bcz we will have crossed the date line and that has already confused me.
For those who don't know the other details yet, Margot and I are volunteering for Health Volunteers Overseas in a hospital in Da Nang, Vietnam to teach their local rehab/physical therapy staff evaluation/assessment/treatment techniques. We have each created 4 presentations to give while we are there and will otherwise have lots of impromptu teaching opportunities. Our assignment lasts the month of january. Afterwhich, we will by joined by 3 other girlfriends (also therapists) and the five of use will do a few weeks of travel in Vietnam, Laos and Thailand.
So, stay tuned!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Christmas EveChristmas Eve
Christmas Eve

the girls with their loot
Christmas MorningChristmas Morning
Christmas Morning

who's the coolest sister ever? :) Thanks James!
ChristmasChristmas
Christmas

with the bou girls going on 10 years now . . .
my Parkermy Parker
my Parker

ps: Parker, you were right, we did fly over rather than across the earth :)


28th December 2010

safe travels!
sounds fab suz! have a great time and can't wait to read all about the latest happenings! btw i think the difference will be 12 hours ahead of east coast....but then again, there's a 50/50 chance i'm talking complete poop!xx

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb