Day 44: Cape Cod and Lexington


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Lexington
August 18th 2011
Published: September 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This morning after packing up my things I cycled into Woods Hole to have a better look around. Since the small public aquarium didn't open until 10am I bought a cookie (which turned out to be peanut butter flavour - ew) and sat by the sea. I then looked around the aquarium and information centre before heading back to Mike's house to skype Rachel. She got her A level results today so found out she's going to Oxford for sure, which is exciting. Mike then came back from work and drove me down to the bus stop to catch the bus to Boston. I think the only reason there is a direct Boston-Woods Hole bus route is so all the rich people can get the ferry to Martha's Vineyard, since Wood's Hole itself is pretty small.

Once in Boston I caught the subway to Alewife station where I was met my Devaki's family, who drove me to their home in Lexington. Devaki did Biology in the year above me at Balliol and now lives back with her parents. Her mum, Kamala, works for Shire pharmaceuticals; her dad, Raju, is a professor in genetics and evolutionary medicine at Harvard; she has an older sister Sri who is finishing her DPhil at Cambridge; and a younger brother Yashu who is 11 and just starting middle school. They're all really friendly and chatty so we got along straight away. After dinner we drove into the centre of Lexington and they showed me around. It's a lovely small town with local shops, and at the centre is a green where the first shots of the Revolutionary War were fired. There's also a graveyard behind the church with some British soldiers in, but it was dark and spooky so we didn't go look.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Otoliths!Otoliths!
Otoliths!

Apparently you can age a fish by counting the rings of alcium carbonate in it's otoliths, since they are laid down on a yearly basis (like tree rings)


Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1135s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb