Marsha's


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Lexington
October 24th 2009
Published: October 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Food and Margaritas!Food and Margaritas!Food and Margaritas!

A great evening in a lovely little Mexican restaurant
Hi Evveryone

Apologies for being so quiet...I've been off line for a few days as each place I've visited has different connection problems.

I had a phone call from Marsha while at the Red Roof Inn..."why don't you come tomorrow?" As it happened Red Roof was a problem, they wanted me to pay for WiFi, they hadn't made my bed at 4pm in the afternoon, if I hadn't looked for the housekeeper I doubt they would have made it then. There were no towels, I never got any soap or shampoo, there were no soft drinks in the drinks dispenser on the floor and there was no ice in the ice making machine. They had no record that I had paid in advance. There was also a terrible stench in the bedroom which I had worked out was coming through the vent in the bathroom and the bathroom door was open. This smell was also in the corridors where there were other vents. So, rather than staying for the 3rd night I went down stairs and told reception that I was checking out a day early...this is not the standard that Chy an Gof supplies!!!!!! Perchance, there was a man behind the reception who I thought was about to have an apoplectit fit!! He looked very disturbed. There were 4 more people in reception - a woman and 3 men all in business suits!! I really had arrived at the right moment...the man behind the receptionist was the Manager who could not apologise enough and wanted to give me vouchers for other Red Roof Inns - which I refused! I told him I am not a professional complainer, he could keep my money but I wouldn't be back. Then I found out about the other 4 people, the women just happened to be the Vice President of Red Roof Inns!!!!!! No wonder the manager was so distraught. They have insisted that I get a full refund.

Anyway, having arrived at Marsha's a day early, we then booked into the beauty parlour - well that's what I would call it as they seemed to do absolutely everything to make an aging woman look smart! I had a hair cut which was needed and my nails trimmed - Marsha had her hair coloured, pedicure, nails, etc. We then left looking the bees knees. Since I've been here we have been
The Minute ManThe Minute ManThe Minute Man

Self-explanatory
to Rock Port and Bearskin Neck, a lovely trip and we stopped for lunch and I had a lobster which had just been cooked for me...that's how fresh it was.

We have also been to Concord and taken photos of the Minute Man - if you don't know (which I didn't) a Minute Man would be a farm labourer who could drop everything at a moment's notice and go and fight...British versus British.

Today we took a day out. Tomorrow we are off to Boston to look for some research in the library. Sunday, Marsha, her husband Mike and I are going down to Cape Cod. Monday we are having a rest day. Tuesday we are travelling up to Maine to meet up with my 3rd cousin, Heather. Wednesday, we are going to Providence to meet up with my 2x1 cousin Ralph Stokes (lawyer and actor!) he is going to show us all around the area and I am going to stay with another lady who I have been emailing and who knows about the Gorhams silver industry. I'm staying there and then she will take me to the Amtrak (train) on the Friday for the journey to New Rochelle and I will be at another homestay in Westchester until I leave.

I can't believe how quickly this trip has gone. It has certainly been a time to remember.
Liz

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb