Start of my long drive


Advertisement
Published: May 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Leominster (MA) - Holyoke (MA)

The first babysteps of driving on my trip has been taken

Stretching my legsStretching my legsStretching my legs

It's really beautiful in MA.
This day I left Leominster, MA and headed out for Holyoke, MA, to visit James ?. I decided to go for the scenic road instead of the more heavily trafficked major roads. Since you aren’t really allowed to stop on the interstates or, rather, freeways I chose to avoid them as much as possible . Besides it’s only 1,5hrs drive between Leominster and Holyoke.



Before I start on how beautiful Massachusetts is with its foliage I must say something about driving in the states.. If you are one of those law-abiding people, forget about having an easy drive. Most people speed, and we aren’t talking of a few mph’s here. Most are speeding anywhere between 10-15 above legal limit as soon as it’s above 35. Now, since I don’t want to end up getting fined I try to keep it, but if it’s a single-lane, no-pass-zone, it’s not easy keeping the speed legal when having an 18-wheeler a few feet behind you trying to gently, but firmly, prod you out of the way. I fairly quickly got the hang of it.



It is as easy as it can be. Do it like the fish; go-with-the-flow.
Scenic drivingScenic drivingScenic driving

This is what I have to endure while driving the smaller roads.
Don’t be the top-speeder, stay in the middle of the pack, don’t stray and statistically the police won’t stop *you*, but the first one 😉.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

It's really purdy!It's really purdy!
It's really purdy!

And this is what I miss out when driving.
Green canopyGreen canopy
Green canopy

MA is, apparently, even more beautiful in the fall. I can clearly see why that is.


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb