My stay at Pleasant Bay was, well pleasant!


Advertisement
Published: August 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'd never been to Cape Cod before and didn't know what to expect. A beach area is a beach area, right? Wrong!!! The ocean water temperature is COLD! There was pounding surf and miles of beaches but I voted to let my feet and legs stay sandy to stay out of the cooler than what I was used to, water temperatures.

After my second day at the Cape (Orleans to be exact), I mentioned to my daughter that I was slightly bored. We stayed at "A Little Inn on Pleasant Bay" an absolutely fantastic and picturesque location within minutes of Nausset Beach. "You're kidding, right?" she asked. "You're on Cape Cod, you're supposed to do nothing, just relax."

Well, this is new to me. I'm used to South Carolina and Florida Beaches where you head up the Boardwalk to grab lunch or a drink or back to the resort to lay by the pool and people watch. I'm used to throwing on a T-shirt over my bathing suit and walking up to Subway or the ice cream parlor. On Nausset Beach there's one snack shack and they have anything you could possibly want. Fresh fish lunches, ice cream, shakes and snacks, but there is only one. This beach is absolutely different from what I was used to and I loved it!

Nearby Chatham offered good restaurants, charming shops and lots, but not too many for this time in July, tourists. A Little Inn on Pleasant Bay is situated in a bend in the road with a main house and cottage style rooms just off the main house. There are flowers everywhere, tea at 5pm and a bountiful breakfast. The owners are endearing and offer good advice on the area but don't hover over guests. You can enjoy your breakfast outside on the covered patio with a relazing view of the back yard and garden, inside off the dining room or outside on the porch with a water view of the calm and picturesque Pleasant Bay. It is truly relaxing and more than comfortable. The guest rooms are spotless and offer an out of this world walk-in ceramic shower. At night, its quiet and dark, there are no TV's in the room, but trust me, you won't care!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb