Cape Cod


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Cape Cod
August 14th 2007
Published: August 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Cape Cod BeachesCape Cod BeachesCape Cod Beaches

The Sand is amazingly soft to walk on
12Aug07 - Rhode Island -

Experienced my first real seafood along the coastal waters at Mystic Bay.

Spent two days at the Sheraton by the Providence Airport. It was right beside the airfield so I got to watch up close the planes takeoff and land. At one point there was a thunderstorm which grounded all the planes and left a line up of aircrafts. I felt sorry for the poor air traffic controllers as the weather cleared and the ensuing meyley of planes landing and taking off.
Wandered into the city and visited Brown University where I picked up some souveniers including a George Bush countdown clock. You can't be too popular when people are selling countdown clocks on when you'll be leaving the White House.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/22125934

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/22125936


14Aug07 - Cape Cod -

Rode to the end of Cape Cod along Hwy 28. I stopped near Chatham to grab a bite from a small bakery cafe where I met another rider on his Suzuki Boulavard. He suggested I wander around Provincetown in the evening to take in the nightlife. Little did I know what I would be in for.

While in Chatam, I checked out the beach by the lighthouse. I couldn't find any parking (hard to believe when riding a motorbike) because of all the Tv news. Later on I found out that Great White Sharks were spotted in the water and half a seal had floated onto shore. The expert biologist who was being interviewed was explaining that sharks are necessary for the health of the oceans and it was good to see that they were eating seals and it's highly unlikely they would attack people... I'm still not going swimming if there are sharks in the water!

After checking into the Provincetown Inn, I walked into town for dinner at the Lobster Pot. I had the best lobster dinner, Ever!

After dinner I walked around and I couldn't believe the nightlife. Provincetown is prodominantly gay, which I hadn't known when I booked my stay. What I didn't realize was, uh well - it's flaming! There are people dressed up various drag costumes including two very large men in matching Britney Spears catholic schoolgirl uniforms holding hands skipping down the street. The town is lined with beautiful art galleries, artisan workshops and really cool stores. Most places I go
Chatham Lighthouse BeachChatham Lighthouse BeachChatham Lighthouse Beach

It was difficult to find parking because of all the television crews. As it turns out, Great White Sharks have been spotted here as well as a half eaten seal. Better the seals than...
to close at 9:00pm which is a bummer for a night person like myself. Provincetown was buzzing past midnight which made it great to walk around. I had a blast walking around!

The following day I rode out to the Racepoint National Park at the end of the cape. Spent the afternoon lying out on the beach. The white sand is amazingly soft.

Hopped back onto Hwy 6 and fought traffic to get off the cape. Eventually found my way to Boston.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/22125938

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/22126428


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Lobster Pot ProvincetownLobster Pot Provincetown
Lobster Pot Provincetown

Excellent seafood!
Spank the MonkeySpank the Monkey
Spank the Monkey

There are some interesting shops among the excellent art studios and gallerys.


Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb