The Saga Begins


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maryland » Baltimore
September 7th 2007
Published: September 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So Technically, this entry is cheating, seeing as how I'm not ACTUALLY in France yet. I leave the 19th (more on that later), but I wanted to have something on this site so that when I send out a mass email to friends, family, and fellow Francophiles with the blog address, they wouldn't be confronted with a dishearteningly blank page.

I'm spending a couple weeks "chez moi" in Baltimore before I hop the pond, and quickly realizing how much I have to do in a very short amount of time. I have to basically fit my entire life into baggage small enough to maneuver on the Paris metro system. I'm planning to spend my first weekend in France visiting friends and Furman kids in Versailles before catching a southbound train for Pau and the Pyrenees.

I have nowhere to live as of now, and therefore no permanent address, but as soon as I cease to be a vagrant, I will give you all my contact information so that you can send me lots of cards and letters telling me how much you love and miss me. Or better yet, so that you can come visit and enjoy the sunny south of France for yourself. I'll have plenty of time to visit when I'm not teaching classes to French middle schoolers. I'm going to be dividing my instruction time between two colleges in Pau. A college is the French equivalent of middle school, so my students will be between 11-14 years old.

I have a skype account set up, and my ID is Katemonster521, and of course I’ll still have AIM and even a cell phone (courtesy of my dear friend and predecessor, Tessa). Well, my suitcases beckon, so I’ll wrap this up for now, but expect to be hearing from me again soon!

Bisous,
Kate


Advertisement



7th September 2007

bordeaux is so not ready for you. :)
11th September 2007

Hab viel spass!
Wait, that's German. Oh well, have fun in France and hopefully I will find the money and the time to jump the pond and visit you. Good luck finding a home, being a vagrant will be no fun after a while. Talk to you soon. justin
21st September 2007

eeeee! As I'm reading this, you are IN FRANCE! Or, close. This is way exciting! Or, um, tres exciting. Whatever. Eat a nutella crepe for me and have lots of fun this week!

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1221s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb