56 days and counting


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine » Portland
June 8th 2007
Published: June 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to my blog! I have really struggled with what to write for my first post. The biggest thing on my mind lately is the fact that in a little more then a week I will no longer be working at my job. For a little more then seven years I have pretty much given everything I have to work. That is my mentality. For me it is all or nothing, there can be no middle ground. Now I am walking away from that. That is tough. There is some guilt. I am a bit unsure. I am questioning my decision, as I think anyone in my position should do. I am walking away from a lot.

But, I also know I have made the right one. I have chose to walk down a new path. For anyone reading this, this is not just an extended vacation. This is my first step, an important step. Somebody said to me "Are you going to find yourself?" I kinda laughed. I know who I am and what I want. But at the same time I think I am about to embark on a period of self discovery. What do I hope to discover? I will answer that when I figure that out.

Ever since I was a kid I have always wanted to see the world. No, I wanted to experience the world. I wanted to know what it was like. The more different the place, the more I want to go. It wasn't my parents who instilled this felling in me. They did not travel. Actually most of our family vacations were wild exciting disasters. Which I absolutely loved! I have to give credit of my wanting to see the world to three of my aunts, Auntie June, Auntie Chickie, & Auntie Nettie. Maybe someday I will tell you why, but not today.

I have heard some great advice!

-I have been told not to drink their water. (What happens if you drink their water? European!)
-I have been told to sew a Canadian Flag on my backpack. (Apparently there are roaming bands of thugs hunting American!)
-There is the classic "Guy, you're crazy! Haven't you seen Hostel! There is gonna be a sequel!" (Because everything we see in the movies is true!)
-"You need to bring a cellphone. What if you get pickpocketed?" (Should I call my mommy?)
-"You're not going to do anything illegal in Amsterdam, are you?" (Um, in Amsterdam it is all legal!)

But seriously, I welcome everyone's advice. If anyone has any to share, please do. Just know, I have been researching this trip in some way for years now. I am mentally prepared for anything that can come my way. And if I do get mugged, imagine the story I will have to tell.
It will be like the time I had my car stolen in Vegas! Anyone want to hear that story????

So welcome to my blog. I hope I get an opportunity to share with all of you a little bit about me that maybe you didn't quite know before. Comments are very cool and very welcome! Questions are awesome.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1010.5kb