quitting New Orleans


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Louisiana
February 24th 2010
Published: February 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This is my first attempt at travelblog from phone.
I spent some time in New Orleans watching them kick ass in the Superbowl followed by Mardi Gras. Sadly it came to an end yesterday because Work got in the way. Next time I'll take a month not 2.5 weeks.
So I left yesterday and pulled my Airstream through snow in Texas, getting a chipped windscreen in the process.
Today a divot was gouged out of the windshield because they use rock instead of sand to combat snowy/icy roads. Top that off with my running out of petrol. Of course, I added a small amount of gas in an attempt to get to the city where gas is cheapest. I think I got a whole in my tank cause the needle just dropped. Before I new it, I was stranded and could only hope that one of the buildings on the horizon was to be a filling station. It was but first I needed to get there.
Texans like the French have a bad reputation, at least in Colorado they do, and it is undeserved in my world. The first fellow I flagged stopped to assist me. And as luck would have it, he carries extra fuel, as he is "prone to running out" too. Guess I'll not be inclined to stop being so cheap if I have such good luck but I really must remember that towing trailers really sucks down the gas. Anyway, thanks Tex.
Signing off cause this typing on the phone ain't so hot. Any droiders know of a good talk to text app?
Keep those gas tanks full!!

ps photos available on facebook


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb