Florence Study Abroad Pt. 1


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky » Taylorsville
January 2nd 2018
Published: January 3rd 2018
Edit Blog Post

Currently I am sitting here on my couch in my pj's with my pup thinking about how in less than two days I will be departing Kentucky, leaving everything that is familiar to me and heading to a different country and culture for the very first time. I am finally fulfilling my lifelong dream of traveling the world, and it starts with Florence. Needless to say I am more than excited, but also a little anxious. When I look around I am surrounded by all my clothes and other items that I need to pack away in my suitcase that strangely I have been putting off all break. Even though I am immensely happy I was given this opportunity, I find myself nervous and uneasy about leaving. I have never flown without my family, or internationally for that matter, and feel a little unprepared and overwhelmed. There are so many things I feel like I should have been doing along the way, practicing my Italian, (which is limited to ciao, grazie and prego), learning more about the culture, and mentally and physically prepping myself for this journey. I have kept myself busy all break working two jobs so I could earn extra cash for this trip, but in doing so I left myself barely any free time to prepare. Now with one more day left in the states, I am definitely feeling the pressure to get everything done, without forgetting anything essential. I tend to always overpack, and being a fashion major I definitely want to bring my A game going to Italy. Unfortunately, I am afraid I do not have the strength to carry all the luggage that it would require to do so. Therefore, I have decided to sacrifice most of my style for practicality, limiting myself to one checked bag and carry on, knowing that future Olivia will thank me later when I'm dragging my luggage across the airport.

Originally, I thought if I was going to be prepared for anything it it would be the amount of physical activity I would be doing. I enjoy working out and try to make it to the gym 2-3 times a week when I'm not working or in class. Additionally, since I have been in college I feel like I have been a lot more acclimated to walking a lot, whether it be walking to class, or taking the stairs. So I thought this whole walking thing would be a piece of cake. Now, I am not so confident. Since I have been home for the holidays my workout routine has completely gone out the window, and I have definitely been binging out on all the sweets that comes with this time of year. During the week of December 18th I walked a total of 23,578 steps, which I was told could be done in just one day when touring Italy. I am afraid it will definitely take some getting use to when I start walking the cobble streets of Florence every day, but I think I will be so enthralled with all my surroundings I won't even realize how tired I am. Here's to hoping all this walking will help me work off some of these holiday sweets I've been shamelessly eating, if I don't get too carried away with all the cheese and pasta that is...

Which brings me to thing I think I am looking forward to the most. The Italian food. Typically, I eat pretty terrible at school and at home. I tend to skip meals and then just eat one giant meal for the day and usually that meal is not even healthy. I always have my coffee in the morning but then after that do not eat till late afternoon, and if I am working maybe even later than that. In one day I spent 2 hours and 30 minutes eating, which I was surpised by because I thought that seemed rather long. I also noticed with my diet that I do not change it up very often and go out of my realm of comfort. I ate almost the same thing every day for three days and did not even realize it till I looked back at my log at the end of the last day. Tracking all my meals has made me realize just how boring my diet really is. So, let this stand as proof that I am going to break these boring food habits and try something new evey day while abroad. Except maybe for my daily coffee...bring on the expresso!! I am hoping that being less predictable in Italy will carry over when I come home and I will be adventurous when trying new things.

Regardless of all my apprehensions, I look forward to the culture, history and architecture that I will be immersed in for the next few weeks. Look for my next post in the following days!

CIAO

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb