Back in America


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky » Richmond
February 3rd 2018
Published: February 3rd 2018
Edit Blog Post

Upon my return, I have received the question; “How was Italy?” numerous times. I am not sure how to accurately put into words my experience in Italy (does anyone, really?) so I usually just replied with “Oh, it was unbelievably beautiful”. But it wasn’t just beautiful. It was intriguing and educational. I would learn so much new history each day my head would hurt. I not only learned the history of the city, but also the culture and customs of the city. We engaged in everyday activities, like going to the market and ordering a coffee at the bar (I wanted to say coffee shop but Giusy would not approve). I got to meet and learn from some of the most kind and interesting people I have ever met. It was a true experience that I will never forget and probably will never stop talking about (sorry to everybody who has to hear about it and look at my 1,000 photos I took).

This trip has opened my eyes to the differences that exist between cultures, not just based on language and customs, but also the way people live. My time in Italy seemed to move slower. People took their time (unless they were driving, it felt like a car chase every time we rode in the cars) and seemed to appreciate things more. In Italy, to-go coffee was created for the Americans. It is not a concept they understand or participate in. In America, we claim we don’t have time to sit down and enjoy a cup of coffee before work, which in some cases is true. So everything is on the go; breakfast, lunch, and even sometimes dinner. I feel like we are constantly rushed. Whether we are rushing to work or school, or rushing through projects and assignments. We are always looking for the next thing, wishing our days away, instead of enjoying each day.

I considered the differences in our buildings as well. Instead of taking the time to build a durable, attractive building, we try and build it as fast as we can with as little materials as possible. Initially, I considered this lazy. But when I think about it, it may be because we are trying to move ahead. We are trying to be less wasteful, with time and items. And I can appreciate that concept, but I also appreciate the concept of taking the time to build lasting and impactful buildings, like the ones we were able to visit in Florence.

I am trying to apply this Italian lifestyle back at home. I have been getting up earlier, giving myself time to enjoy breakfast and pack a lunch, instead of rushing out the door without either. I am trying to enjoy each day and live at a slower pace.

Literally while we were still on the trip, I was looking up places to stay in Florence next winter for my sister and I. I would love to bring her back and share with her the places and experiences I remember. But I definitely realized I love home. I already knew I loved home, but I mean I love living in America. Maybe if I gave myself more time to adjust, and learn the language more, I would feel more comfortable with living somewhere else, but I like hearing English everywhere I go. I like familiarity. I also like the food in America (don’t get me wrong Italian food was amazing, but I need variety!!). Regardless, this trip has forced me to step out of my comfort zone and engage in experiences I wouldn’t have in the US. I learned how to navigate and communicate in an unfamiliar environment (with a little help from my group). Overall, this trip has given me a little bit more confidence of traveling abroad, but I don’t think I would want to ever do it alone.

My advice to everyone out there is to STUDY ABROAD!! Just do it. Don’t overthink it. I remember being wary in the beginning and unsure if it was something I really wanted to spend the time and money on. I remember talking to Dr. Bush about my uncertainties and she just said, “You need to just do it.” And I said “Yes ma’am” and applied that day, and I am beyond thankful that I did! But seriously, if I was giving any advice I would say do not listen to the weather app. It is not always accurate. And pack more practical clothing items than fashionable because you really will only wear the warm, comfortable clothes. Also, be adventurous when trying new foods, even when you are at the grocery! Try their popular snacks because you might end up bring home boxes of them like some people did. Just try and really live like a resident of the city. You will learn more and adapt better. Not everything goes as planned, so you have to stay flexible and positive. I know it can be a stressful time but it is all worth it in the end. I enjoyed the trip because we had so much guidance, I never felt like I was lost or stranded. Being with a group took away some of my stress (and my mother’s) while being abroad, and I am so thankful for that! I thoroughly enjoyed this experience, it couldn’t have been any better. I can’t wait to encourage more people to study abroad and participate in these impactful experiences.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0884s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb