Reflections


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky » Irvine
February 4th 2018
Published: February 5th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Now that I have been back in the state for about a week I have has some time to reflect on our amazing trip. While abroad I know that I had the realization that I was without a doubt in the right program for me. Everyone wants to say that they chose the best career for themselves and I just had the greatest experience when I visited the preschool. That visit just drove everything home for me and made me realize that I am exactly where I need to be.



This trip has definitely made me want to travel around the world. I do not think that I will be going anywhere soon though because it is a bit pricey when you are not going with such a large group. At the beginning of this trip I thought that this would be my one and only trip out of the states because I am such a home-body. However, it had the opposite effect and had made me realize that going out of the country can push your comfort zone in a positive way. You learn a lot about yourself and those around you. It opens your eyes to all the similarities and the differences you have with other people.



If I were to give advice to another student that was interested in travelling abroad I would tell them to pack at least three extra outfits in your carry-on bag. I was one of four people to have their luggage lost and you do not want to be the person to have to wear the same outfit for four days straight. Dressing in layers to the airport would be good advice to because the planes can get pretty cold, even with the blankets that they give you. I would also tell them to invest in a small luggage weight because you can weigh your stuff throughout the trip to make sure you do not go over your weight limit.



I do not think that you can truly prepare yourself for traveling abroad. You can do research and read all the books that are out there on the place you are visiting but nothing can compare to actually being there. I have tried to tell a few people about my experiences while abroad and I have caught myself saying quite a few times “you had to be there to really understand.” I loved every part of being there and even losing my luggage was part of that.







Total steps for Jan 24 were 12,921, steps for Jan 25 were 21,585, steps for Jan 26 were 11,963, steps for Jan 27 were 8,672, steps for Jan 28 were 8,842, steps for Jan 29 were 9,507, steps for Jan 30 were 9,754, steps for Jan 31 were 11,530, steps for Feb 1 were 10,887, steps for Feb 2 were 9,201, steps for Feb 3 were 11,165, and steps for Feb 4 are 8, 727.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb