Preparing for Italy


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky » Georgetown
January 2nd 2019
Published: January 2nd 2019
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone, my name is Madison Shively and welcome to my first blog post! To start off I feel like I should begin by telling you a little bit about myself. I am a junior at Eastern Kentucky University pursuing a degree in Child and Family Studies! I have been so blessed by being a part of the Family Consumer Science department at EKU and seeing their heart for their students and jobs! I am so excited about having the opportunity to study abroad in Florence, Italy for the next three weeks! It doesn't even seem real! Thankfully, I will be traveling with the Family Consumer Science department at EKU, so for those who are worried, you will be glad to know I am not traveling alone! Even though I am incredibly excited for this once in a lifetime opportunity, I have to admit that this adventure is far out of my comfort zone. As much as I would love to be able to define myself using the phrase, "world- traveler" - I cannot... yet. But this trip is the start of an exciting and adventure taking 2019!

For as long as I can remember, I have had the desire to travel abroad and to experience a different culture but have never had the opportunity until now. I feel like I have been preparing myself for this trip since I learned about it freshman year. As a freshman, I heard about this opportunity through one of my sorority sisters that went and was able to see how great of an experience it was and I knew I had to be apart of it. I explored the possibility my sophomore year, but ultimately decided that I needed more time to prepare financially and mentally. After seeing all the pictures and hearing of the awesome experience they had, I couldn't put it off any longer. So finally my junior year my best friend and I decided to take the jump together and I know we are not going to regret it! I have spent countless hours of past semester using Pinterest to help plan and research articles like, "must-do's while in Florence, Italy" to gain an understanding of what I will be around. I have pinned hundreds of tips and articles about restaurants and coffee shops that I want to try, souvenirs to bring home, markets and stores to shop at and cities that are close by that I want to explore. When I think about traveling abroad I feel mostly excitement while also having feelings of anxiety and lots of nerves. I have never flown before, much less even been in an airport so you could say my knowledge about traveling and how it all works is pretty much non-existent. This leads me to a lot of worrying and fear of not knowing what to expect. My family and friends have been very supportive in praying for safe travels and that I would be able to enjoy the journey. Praying through my fears about the flight and trusting in God has been the biggest preparation for this trip. Because I feel ill-prepared when it comes to actually flying, I have tried to do what I can to prepare myself in other ways. I am a person who LOVES to make lists. I pretty much make a "to-do" list on my phone for everything I do, because I know that I will forget something if not. I have googled so many "what to pack for Italy" check-lists and have modified them to meet my own needs. I truly feel like this has been a big help in keeping me calm and feeling more organized while preparing for Italy. As the trip has been getting closer, I have been checking the weather to make sure I have the appropriate clothing packed. Packing has been more difficult than I expected because I am guilty for being an over-packer and for waiting till the last minute. A little over 24-hours till we leave and i'm still not packed and ready...

Although right now I am feeling a lot of nerves, I know when I look back in three short weeks, it'll all be worth it. I am so blessed and thankful that I have the opportunity to go to Florence, Italy for THREE WEEKS and to be able to experience all of the wonderful things that are ahead. I know that it is going to be more than anything I could have ever imagined it to be I am looking forward to sharing everything I learn and see through more blog posts and pictures. Here's to a great way to start out 2019 and to all the "first's" that this trip has in store!

Ciao for now!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb