This could get a little bumpy


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky » Florence
May 20th 2017
Published: May 24th 2017
Edit Blog Post

We awoke for the last time in California. I took Abcde down to breakfast but decided not to eat downstairs after I noticed that the furniture was leaving paint on my hands. The breakfast area had been roped off when we checked in yesterday but I didn't know why until I found paint on my hands. It looked nice with a fresh coat of paint, wish they had given it enough time to dry before putting it back in service.
I reloaded the car and at about 11:15 we were off to return it. We dropped it off and were in the Enterprise shuttle to the terminal by noon. Our boarding passes said terminal 2 but when I went to check our bag and car seat, I was directed to terminal 3. No biggie just a couple hundred yards down the hall and we were free of the big green suitcase and with a few tears we also turned over the car seat. Back to terminal 2 we made our way through TSA where the woman had issues reading the ticket that said Abcde was flying with us and then made me go through normal degrading security check while Caroline could take Abcde through pre-check. I finished up, put my cloths back on and refilled my pockets and found Caroline and Monito sitting near our gate. With an hour before we were supposed to board and then a 4 hour flight with only peanuts to eat, I made a food run and we split an airport, personal pan pizza. Waiting, Waiting, Waiting the time for us to begin boarding had come and gone. Then the time for the flight to depart passed. I have been here before, waiting to take a flight that ends up canceled and was not looking forward to having it happen to me again. Finally they began boarding the infirm and the very young. We strolled on before everyone else, claimed space in the overhead bins and were all settled in waiting to see if we had a third person in our row. We did, and the stewardesses did not move her so it would be a long flight back to Kentucky. I watched XXX:the Return of Xander Cage, it was not bad but felt a lot like it was made just to get fans of the first movie re-interested in the franchise, and The Killing Joke (a Batman Cartoon I had been wanting to see) it was disappointing at the end. Caroline watched Central Intelligence and seemed to enjoy it. Abcde slept for about 2.5 hours and woke as we began our decent into CVG. The landing was rough, at least it seemed so to me, I was clutching Caroline's knee and had to remind myself to let go.
My ears behaved better this flight and I was only a little deaf when we landed. We made our way to baggage claim, quickly found the Big Green Suitcase and, after beginning to panic, found the car seat in oversized baggage. The hotel's shuttle was not available but Ana was working again and called us a cab which was waiting when we finally found it. Back to the hotel and then I loaded our van for the final leg home.
Just about 12:30am we pulled in to the driveway. I got my tools and turned our water back on and then helped Caroline finish the unloading. Abcde struggled going to sleep and I kept having to lie in her room on the futon and listen to Rock-a-bye baby with her.

We are Home, our own beds, own bathroom and responsible for our own cleaning and cooking. I miss vacation...

Caroline's highlights of the trip were Sea World and the Dolphin Show and Goofy's Kitchen for Mothers day. I thought those were pretty great too but I also took Abs on her first thrill ride, Oscar the Grouch's Eel ride, and then we rode it 4 more times. I think I have a roller coaster buddy when she gets a little taller. Neither of us enjoyed the traffic we encountered and will never live in Los Angeles. Maybe San Diego but I think we are still thinking Florida or parts farther south. I still hate flying but it would have taken a week each way to drive to LA so I gotta overcome that disdain to visit the west coast. Or we could take the train....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb