It’s all about the Hike Today! 26 mi, 1800’ climb


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky » Ashland
May 28th 2018
Published: May 29th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Approximate Route Today


This made the walk worth it!This made the walk worth it!This made the walk worth it!

This young Buck was very tame and unconcerned that I was there.
Today was a short ride to Breaks Interstate Park where I have had reservations for 4 months. The Park proudly advertises itself as “ The Grand Canyon of the South” so I have been eager to experience it.

The ride started out much the same as the last two or three days, lots of ups and downs followed by a big climb up to the Park. Although I saw 12-13% several times they were very brief and there were also stretches of 5-6% as a bit of relief. After grinding up 13%, 5% almost feels flat!

Although Breaks Park is on the Virginia/Kentucky border, the countryside and dialect is much different than when Bruce and I were riding in the Shenandoah Valley.

Very pronounced Country twang here.

One would climb up over a very steep hill and descend down into a small valley before starting up the next climb.
It seemed each valley had a 5-6 house settlement called a lick. I saw a dozen or so of those today.

Once I arrived at my lodge room in Breaks, I went to the restaurant and absolutely pigged out on the Lunch Buffet! They lost money on me today!

My stomach was hurting so bad from overeating I went on about a three mile hike in the on and off light rain.

Most of the pictures today are from that hike. The main lodge is perched on the top of the mountain overlooking the Russel Fork of the Big Sandy which carved a 1000’ canyon through Pine Mountain. They named it Breaks because of the canyon through the mountain.

As I completed my hike I was offered a bottle of water by a very nice woman, whom it turns out is a descendant of the McCoy family made famous by the Hatfield McCoy feud. The feud started right after the Civil War and lasted over thirty years. Sixty Five Murders were attributed to the feud but eluded justice by intimidating Judges, Juries and Law Officers.

I know this is a long Blog but as I leave Virginia I must convey my impressions:

It rains a lot!

Hence, it is very green.

A great portion of the yards are very large with freshly mowed lawns and very well kept homes and yards.

The State of Virginia has posted Historical Landmarks everywhere and therefore it is like riding through early American and Civil War History.

The people in Virginia are extremely warm and friendly!

I could live here if it didn’t rain so much!

Tomorrow Kentucky.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Group of Houses at the bottom of each valley.Group of Houses at the bottom of each valley.
Group of Houses at the bottom of each valley.

The valleys were very small with steep hills surrounding on every side.
A couple of lady’s are holding their garage sale.A couple of lady’s are holding their garage sale.
A couple of lady’s are holding their garage sale.

The interesting thing was that there were no homes within a mile of here.
First view of the Russel Fork in BreaksFirst view of the Russel Fork in Breaks
First view of the Russel Fork in Breaks

This area was first discovered by Daniel Boone in 1767 as he was exploring new routes to the West.
Great small lake in the park.Great small lake in the park.
Great small lake in the park.

The hike took me right along this lake for about 1/2 mile.
Looking down into the River.Looking down into the River.
Looking down into the River.

Note the Clinchfield Train Tracks just above the River. The track was first started in 1890 but completed in 1915 after a bankruptcy and much litigation. It is still used today to transport Coal.


29th May 2018

Beautiful country
Your doing great Bob!
29th May 2018

Dale
Thanks for keeping up the interest in my Trip. Great to hear from you. Bob
29th May 2018

Finally caught up!
Fascinating reading, Bob! Great pix too! Great to know you are staying positive with all the rain and endless climbing. Nice to have a beer or two at the end of the day, I betcha! Thanks for keeping us informed. jk
29th May 2018

Thanks
John great to hear from you. I just entered Kentucky. Having breakfast in a diner. Everyone sounds like Larry the Cable Guy! Take Care.

Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0785s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb