Once the countdown begins, each day is a milestone...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas » Manhattan
November 15th 2010
Published: November 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Or that's what it feels like, anyway.
I find it frustrating that I haven't had the time to really tell myself, "Hey Lindsay. I'm going to China in blah blah days. Isn't that exciting?" With my fifteen page research paper (on Fei Xiaotong), study abroad meetings (about Asia), the visa process (with half of it written in Mandarin Chinese), and about a billion other things, I've become so busy that even the subtle hints of "China" in my crazy day-to-day routine escaped me.

Until today.

I finally had the chance to actually sit down...and really contemplate about my trip. No, I didn't invite my meditation cushion or anything. But I did have quite a long and silent heart-to-heart conversation with myself. And it was then and there that I came to the realization of why I'm truly going.

Sure, I'll be continuing my Chinese language studies at the Southwest University for Nationalities. I'll also develop and perfect my anthropological training. Of course I want to succeed in these things, since I'll more than likely return to China for my career. But more than anything, from my own inner experiences, I want to discover a remarkable liberation that brings about happiness and fulfills the highest levels of my own development. If I find a wiser way to live, and a wider perspective, then I can really live for others, heal others, and free others.

The good news is...this trip will make is possible to do so. :-)

Advertisement



15th November 2010

Study in China
I stumbled across this while researching studying abroad in China . I look forward to reading about your adventures as I make my decision!

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0715s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb