Preparation


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas » Independence
January 25th 2014
Published: January 25th 2014
Edit Blog Post

It has been 25 years since I have been overseas. I was in the Philippines in 1989 for the World Evangelism Conference. For that trip I purchased new luggage, now worn out. No new luggage needed for this trip. In fact, the luggage is quite restricted. One bag, one carry-on, one purse or computer bag. I bought a used lap top for the trip so I could keep in touch by email and this blog. All of our rooms are supposed to have wifi. Other special items include a voltage converter, poncho, and a hat for the intense Middle East sun rays. I'm not use to keeping track of a hat, so I will probably have to buy one or two to replace lost ones along the way. The list of instructions on what to bring and how to prepare is very detailed. It does seem a bit overwhelming at times....remembering all of the suggestions, thou-shalts, and thou-shalt nots.

My biggest preparation has been getting in shape for considerable walking. They suggest 1.5 to 2.5 miles of walking each day to get in shape. I have been doing 2 to 3 miles a day....five days a week. I am going to increase that to 4 miles on Feb. 1. I am surprised by my wind strength this far. I am terribly out of shape and over weight. My back hurts considerably when I am on my feet too much. But thus far the training has been without much strain. I just don't want to miss a minute of this great adventure because I can't keep up physically.

Please begin praying for me now...that I might be PREPARED in body, mind, and spirit. Thank you!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1104s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb