Part 2: Garden City Staples Remodel -- Other Highlights


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas » Garden City
May 22nd 2004
Published: May 22nd 2004
Edit Blog Post

May 14: We worked 8-5. Staples turned 18 years old and the store bought cake for everyone to celebrate. After work the 6 of us went to eat dinner at El Charro Mexican Resaurant. It wasn't bad, but I agree with Jana when she said, "I wouldn't make a special trip to come back." Gary, our Staples project manager, was supposed to meet us there, but Jana accidentally gave him the wrong directions and he didn't find it. He ate somewhere else that night. After we ate I drove around to get a feel for the town. It's way too small for me although it has everything someone could need: plenty of shopping, fast food, convenience stores, churches, libraries, a football field-size pool, nice roads and neighborhoods, etc. Just a small town. Then I went back the hotel and watched Crossroads on CMT for the first time because I saw John Mayer was going to be on. I didn't learn until half-way through the show that John Mayer and Brad Paisley were supposed to be singing eachothers songs to give them a different sound. It's a cool idea, but up till then I was kind of upset that John wasn't singing his own songs. In the end (another one of my favorite songs) I ended up liking Brad Paisley too.
May 17: Worked 8-6. Afterwards Jana, Suzy, and I ate at the Golden Dragon Chinese Buffet. It was very good and I stuffed myself good! After that I dropped off my film from our Colorado road trip at Wal Mart. Went back to the hotel and did laundry.
May 20: Worked 8-6:45. I worked ALL day on telephones and ink cartridges!
May 21: Worked 8-2. Our last day at that store. I took a picture of our crew: Gary, Tom, Suzy, Susanne, Jana, Kris, Nikki and me. We completed the store at 2PM. YAY! Then I went to the Museum. It was kinda neat. They have a good history of the indians who were in the area before the white people came in and set up a city. The history of the city. A small dollhouse collection and a collection of wedding dresses from different time periods. The huge pool is right next door to the museum. That night we ate pizza in Kris and Nikki's room and talked and watched a movie. That was fun.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb