First Entry


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Iowa » Cedar Rapids
October 21st 2008
Published: October 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello friends!
This is my first entry for my blog on my upcoming travels. I will be leaving the country on Saturday Nov 1st from Atlanta->Los Angeles->Bangkok->Kathmandu, Nepal! When I arrive in Kathmandu I am meeting up with the rest of my group (4-5 physicians and a few RN's) and our coordinators from Himalayan Healthcare. After a couple of days of orientation we head off for a medical trek to the Dhading region of the Ganesh Himals (the Himalayas) which I believe is not too far from the border with Tibet. We will be setting up temporary clinics for a few days at a time in a couple of small villages. This trek is two weeks in length. Upon returning to Kathmandu I will be getting a few things in order then heading over to Ilam, in the far eastern part of the country to stay at a small hospital, which operates under Himalayan Healthcare as well. I will be there for a undetermined amount of time, approx 3 months is a guess, then doing some tourist-type activities, trekking, etc in Nepal and India. I plan to return around April or May! If anyone feels like coming and traveling in India or Nepal let me know!
Please take a look at www.himalayan-healthcare.org for more details on the group and the work I'll be doing! I will try to update as I can and let you all know how things are going and share my adventures! Take care!
Jennifer

Advertisement



4th November 2008

traveling mercies
Jennifer: Very exciting that you're making this trip. I look forward to reading your blog and following your work and travels there. "Traveling mercies"!
13th November 2008

Family Pride
Jennifer, I can't express enough how very proud your family in Wisconsin,Illinois and Iowa are of you. You have set some very high goals for yourself and are meeting them with zest. Keep doing all the wonderful things you do to help others. God has blessed you and please stay safe..We love you very much

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb