First Excursion Out


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Iowa » Ames
September 7th 2009
Published: September 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well my first excursion out of Arkansas went extremely well... actually it was quite amazing! I flew to Iowa to visit the boyfriend and my friends I had made while living there. The flights were ok, I can't complain too much because I have heard horror stories revolving around flying, and mine does not even compare. Overall everything went fairly smoothly, I just hate that I had to fly from Little Rock to Chicago, and then Chicago to Des Moines. Takes forever, and seems senseless. But no matter how tired I was, it felt really good to walk through Des Moines airport into Ryan's arms. We didn't do a whole lot.. kinda lounged around, I got to see a friend or two of mine while Ryan was working Saturday, and then had dinner with some friends Saturday night. The most exciting thing that we did was go sailing on Sunday with a couple of friends. It was AWESOME! I definitely want to go again. It was fairly easy to pick up.. kinda cool that I can say I've sailed before.. granted it was only a small 3 person boat, but it was still very memorable for me. I really enjoyed being on the lake with the sun beating down, watching the sail and learning how to feel the wind and just go with it. The sound the water made against the boat when we started to pick up speed was probably my favorite part. 3 people just hanging on a sailboat listening to the wind and the water, not needing to say too much but when to turn to catch more wind or when to adjust the ropes, or tell the captain there was a boat ahead that she is going to hit unless she changed directions.. you know the small stuff lol It was just very relaxing and something I had never expected to be doing. So happy that we went, and so happy that we didn't get stuck on the lake due to no wind lol. Hanging out on the beach area was fun too, except for the silent but deadly "burrs." They took you by surprise, attacking at a pivotal moment when you were stranded without any sand or concrete to help you.. man I'm glad we made it out of there alive, it was close! Many were wounded during the battle.
So on more of a serious note, I am not really the romantic or gushy type, so I won't go into too much detail, but it was really awesome to see Ryan. Just what I needed after the stressful couple of weeks I had. And even though we didn't do a whole lot but lounge around and just be in each other's company, it was wonderful.
It was a good time to see my friends too, just sorry I didn't get to see everyone that I wanted to. I do really miss my friends in Iowa, some of the best people I know. It was good to see that everyone is basically doing the same things they were when I left, sometimes patterns and the "same old boring stuff" can be quite refreshing and reassuring.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.21s; Tpl: 0.033s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0819s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb