A little of our life at Camp Atterbury


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Indiana
September 6th 2009
Published: September 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My buildingMy buildingMy building

Filling triwalls with equipment to ship to Germany and Kosovo.
We have been at Camp Atterbury, IN since the 21st of August. Since our arrival we have gone through Soldier Readiness Processing (SRP) that covers everything from administrative records, medical, pay, and overall readiness for deployment. After that we worked in our assigned sections in Task Force Falcon HQ to support the seven Task Forces we support. Those Task Forces come from approx. 12 different states and equal about 1400 soldiers. We also train on various "Army" tasks so our skills are sharp and we are ready for "the worst day in Kosovo".
Dallas and I don't see each other much since we work in different sections and have seperate barracks.
Today we started 24 hour operations for a huge exercise to see how all our different parts work together. I drew the short stick and will be on nights; working the 7pm to 7 am shift. Dallas got lucky and will work the day shift.
I have posted some pics from my co-workers camera to give you an idea of how we live and work.
We look forward to hearing from you all and going on a pass together in about 3 weeks.
Love and miss you all a ton!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

My workareaMy workarea
My workarea

That's me with my back to the camera.
Work, work, workWork, work, work
Work, work, work

Yes, I'm tired and confused!
Mess HallMess Hall
Mess Hall

I miss cooking!
Trish and meTrish and me
Trish and me

My co-worker. Her husband is deployed in Africa and she has twin boys (5) and a 3 year old girl...
Promotion partyPromotion party
Promotion party

We had a little promotion party and had O'douhls!
Crazy GermanCrazy German
Crazy German

Jaeger got a Bday present and the flip flops fit me! This is our crazy German!
Trish and meTrish and me
Trish and me

My good friend and co-worker.


8th September 2009

Miss you guys
Hi Lil Ship. Thanks for keeping us posted on how you and Dallas are doing. We think of you daily and keep you in our thoughts and prayers. There's nothing like drinking an odouhls, they tend to satisfy the thirst quench. Take Care and Be safe!!! Love you Guys!!! Shar
8th September 2009

Hi from Jeff,Sue and Jamie
Just recieved your first blog it's great to here from you and see pics hope all is well we miss you and hope to here from you soon. Say hi to Dallas when you get the chance have not called I don't know if you guys can recieve or make calls or if you can We don't know when your working or not. this blog site will be great. Love and miss you Jeff, Sue and Jamie
15th September 2009

Hi Mel
Hi Mel Jenn passed this on. Love those flip flops ;o) you look very tired, I don't envy you at all --the days and weeks never end. haven't heard to much from Miss Jenn, but we did take her out for pedi's and supper. She was driving Dallas's jeep ;o) Tell everyone hi. Miss you, luv T
22nd September 2009

thanks
Well, I finally got a moment or maybe I should say I took a moment to look at this site. Sorry. I enjoyed the photos and the stories. What a huge office you have WOW!! :) Sounds like things are moving right along and you are getting closer to coming back home!!! YA!!! We had frost last night already. I was not ready for it so I don't know if it did my flowers in. Oh well, my flower garden sucked this year. Everything was so late in coming up. Well, I am at work doing this so I best get busy. Just wanted to say hi to your guys. Take care. DS

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0743s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.2mb