All Over


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Jerseyville
June 22nd 2015
Published: June 22nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Six months ago, I left on a journey that would change my life. Studying abroad has been the best time in my life. I met great new people, traveled a continent and learned so much about other cultures. I have stories for a lifetime and stories that will shape my life. I have new friends that span the globe, who give me reason to travel the world. Most of all I have gained perspective. Perspective on how others live, view life and view history. My travels have shaped me from the sacrifice at Normandy to the atrocities of Auschwitz. The beauty of nature in Ireland to the art and culture of cities like London, Paris and Prague. Perspective is how we view things in the world and it is without a doubt that my perspective on history, people and life has changed. I have always wanted to travel outside of small town USA from a young age and meet other people and see how they live and I finally know why. As Mark Twain said, “Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry and narrow-mindedness”.

I would be remiss if I did not thank all the people who have supported during my time abroad. Friends and teachers from home who encouraged me and showed their excitement for my journey leading up to and through my time abroad. The friends I met in Ireland that I hope to all see again one day who made the long period of time from home easy, fun, and remarkable. I especially must thank the “Coole Socke” who were like family and I consider them so. Most of all I have to thank my family who gave me love and support in any way possible during my time abroad. My parents have shaped who I am and it was them who instilled a passion for travel many years back and provide support in any decision I make and I cannot thank you enough.
<pre style="background: white;">Thank you, Gracias, Danke, Merci, Dankjewel, Go Raibh Maith Agat, Děkuji, Dziękuję Cheers,</pre>


<pre style="background: white;">Nathan</pre>

Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb