I'm a eastcoast midwesterner


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » DeKalb
May 28th 2008
Published: June 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

New Stuff From DeKalbNew Stuff From DeKalbNew Stuff From DeKalb

New Camera New Drivers Licence (same me)
Had some emotional good byes in Philly. Then drove the 12ft truck off to DeKalb. Must say I'm really impressed I didn't hit anything driving the big yellow monster through the tiny historical streets of Philadelphia.

Made it to DeKalb safe and sound. Been relaxing at the farm mostly. Had BBQ with the family for memorial day. When I'm not packing, unpacking, or repacking boxes, I've been trying to bone up on my 'pirates of the carribean' knowledge (the theme of the camp in Italy), with the assistance of the new kittens who like to climb on face unless of course there is a book I'm reading - in which case they would prefer to fall asleep in it.

Been trying to get everything else in order out here before I jet off again. Got my IL drivers license today. The DeKalb DMV is thankfully no where near as awful as the one in DC. Its a tiny little building. They yell your first name when your ID is ready rather then making you wait for your number to come up on a huge digital board. In this DMV the "no spitting, no line cutting, no cursing, no fighting" signs were nowhere to be found. I was in and out in twenty minuets. I am officially a resident of Illinois. Registered to vote and everything.

Also spent a good deal of time in a big comphy chair at the Panara Bread in town, e-mailing and such.

Looking forward to possibly going kayaking with my moms cousin Terry and his significant other Karen tomorrow. Terry and Karen are staying at the farm while they visit DeKalb on their way up to someplace in Minnesota or Michigan to go fishing. Both retired military they said they spend a week out of every month traveling. I hope I can do that when I retire, but knowing me I'll probably end up like my grandfather and have to retire three times before I actually retire.

It's been nice to see family and looking forward to seeing more. Heading up to Milwaukee on Thursday night to see Erin and back down to Williams Bay this Sunday to see Nancy and the rest of the McCabes on her birthday.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The FarmThe Farm
The Farm

farm house
The FarmThe Farm
The Farm

The Buildings
The FarmThe Farm
The Farm

Landscape view
Baby KittiesBaby Kitties
Baby Kitties

Never seen a brown kitten like her before, mom named her coco


Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb