Chicago!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
June 2nd 2014
Published: June 9th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Chicago! I love you!

Arriving in Chicago on Wednesday afternoon consisted of drag bags to accommodation, beeline for Mexican restaurant, passed out cold by 8pm. Thursday however was bright eyed and bushy tailed and I headed into downtown aka 'the loop'. With nothing on my mind other than seeing what was on offer, I discovered Grants Park, Millennium Park and Museum Park.

Strolling slowly, my mind wandered, and it hit me then. I'm on holiday, and this city was beautiful, vibrant and bright. With a lake so huge that my mind kept trying to trick me into thinking it was sea. It even had seagulls! I also quickly learnt why its called the Windy City. Before the wonder Renee showed up, I hovered over glass floors in Seares Tower (now known as Willis Tower) with shaking knees, oogled fishes, starred at the stars, shoved a Chicago hot dog down my throat, got historical and took a time out on the beach.

Then Renee turned up! Woohoo! We walked until out feet fell off, ate until we had food babies, and drank until we wobbled a bit. found a tall ship and took it for a spin, and found a fun house that was all abit confusing! A huge pulled pork sandwitch sorted us out. After fireworks on Navy pier, we did as the locals do and found a dive bar. Set up camp, and off we went. Following that.

Day 2 was a little bit tougher. But Renee was amazing and supplied me with copious tea and water. And with the day starting with an all you can eat brunch and gospel choir, how could your day not perk up! However, most places In America only appear to serve coffee, and I got looks of irritation when asking for tea. A search party was sent to the back where I was brought hot water (in a silver teapot on a tray) and a tea bag. Not just any tea bag, but a bag of the worst excuse for black tea ever to be picked and dried. The result was watery milk. Mmmm. Still managed a rooftop view of the city and got a bit cultural at the art museum.

Then Renee left. unhappy face, but how brilliant was it that she came down for the weekend. Haven't seen her for 4 years but boy what a blast. I don't think anyone says 'B'donk a donk' quite like her!

After picking up my car, a Hyndai Sante Fe Sport, I moved on to the next stop.... Nashville!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb