A4 Rihla #24


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
April 20th 2013
Published: April 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hello fellow bloggers! I am currently learning about the French Revolution in comparison to the American Revolution and I was faced with some very critical thinking questions.

1. What are some ideas that are difficult to fulfill in reality?
2. Is it rational for people to use violence to make a point?
3. Which tactic is most effective for persuasion and is compromisation ever a factor?

My Response:
1. Some ideas that are difficult to fulfill are: world peace, ending world hunger, ending racism, ending sexism, and having a utopia ( which I think is more towards impossible).
2. I honestly wish I could say violence is never the answer because violence should never be the answer, but in the case of the French Revolution I think it was necessary. I think it was rational because they already tried to peacefully voice their opinions prior to the tennis court oath and the clergy and nobility still did not take their opinions into consideration. Their violent acts were for a meaningful cause and as a result they developed their own rights. If they didn't already try to prove their point peacefully and if their intentions were bad then I would be opposed to a violent approach.
3. I don't think there is any tactic that can fully persuade everyone. For example, Obama has many good tactics for persuasion; however, there was always a group of people that didn't agree with him. This goes for anyone, not just Obama. Compromisation is never a factor because I don't think that people are willing to compromise their beliefs.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb