Rihla #21


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
March 7th 2013
Published: March 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

1. If I could choose to live in either the Old World or the New World based on the food they have, I would definitly choose to live in the Old World. I would love to live in the Old World because they have more food to choose from, so I would never get tired of eating a certain type of food. Also I enjoy most of the meats that they have and I love all of the fruit that they have. Futhermore, I love beans, all types, and rice.

2. My mother enjoy making sweet potato pie which includes:


• 1 pound sweet potato
• 1/2 cup butter, softened
• 1 cup of white sugar
• 1/2 cup of milk
• 2 eggs
• 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
• 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
• 1 teaspoon vannilla extract
• 9 inch unbaked pie crust

Directions



• Boil sweet potato whole in skin for 40 to 50 minutes. Run cold water over the sweet potato, and remove the skin.
• Break apart sweet potato in a bowl. Add butter, and mix. Stir in sugar, milk, eggs, nutmeg, cinnamon and vanilla. Beat on medium speed until mixture is smooth. Pour filling into an unbaked pie crust.
• Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 55 to 60 minutes, or until knife inserted in center comes out clean.


I believe that this recipe best represents the New World because the New World includes potatoes and vanilla.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0638s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb