Rihla #19 B2


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
February 27th 2013
Published: February 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day if the Dead: The Day of the Dead is a old ritual mostly celebrated in Mexico, but it is also celebrated in parts of the U.S. It is an Aztec ritual and a symbol used in the ritual is skulls. The skulls represent rebirth, honor the the dead,and are put on display during the time of the ritual.

My reaction to this ritual was normal because I've heard of the "Day of the Dead" before. Growing up as a kid I never really understood what was going on or why; However, I do now. Nobody ever really took the time out of their day at my old school, to tell me what the purpose of the ritual was. Back then you either knew or you didn't. On the other hand, I am familiar with the celebration and the things that happen during the time of the ritual.

This relates to class because this ritual, like most things in Mexico, the Spaniards tried to kill and it was also merged with Catholic theology. After the Spaniards came over to Mexico they tried to convert everyone Catholicism.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1020.4kb