RIHLA #14


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
January 7th 2013
Published: January 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Thulina Madono is a nominee for CNN’s top ten heroes of 2012. Madono has done great charity work in his township helping children attend and achieve at school. Madono is a co-founder of kliptown youth program, commonly known as KYP, which is an organization that provides 400 children in the township with school uniforms, meals, supplies, and occasionally financial assistance to achieve a higher education. The children in KYP have signed a contract in which they promise to work hard and achieve in academics in return for the supplies given to them. A majority of the children graduate and go on to return the favor by helping out at the program when they’re adults. Stories like this give me hope that this world will become better. My reaction to this story is definitely one of joy and happiness. I definitely agree with Madono’s nomination. This story makes me want to go and help out more in the world. However, In 2012 I haven’t necessarily done a lot of community service, although I wish I had done more, if I had to chose my greatest contribution to the world in 2012 it would be volunteering to help out at the Chicago marathon. It was a lot of fun volunteering as well as the fact that the marathon raised a lot of money for an assortment of different charities. In the future I would like to be more active in community service. If I was nominated for hero of the year in the future it would be because I want to join the military and afterwards go into politics and make legislation to help the less fortunate. I want to spend my life helping others the best way I can.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0656s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb