RIHLA #30


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
June 1st 2012
Published: June 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

1) What is something we did this year that you think you will remember for the rest of your life?

The capstone project where we were designated the social work section from UIC. We learned about the social work life and we learned that they do a lot of research to learn about the community they are trying to impact. they foster and advocate for those who have emotional, physical, and mental abusive relationships. That can be anything from husband/wife, boyfriend/girlfriend, and child/parent. I will always remember this because our mentor Mrs. K really encouraged me to consider social work as a profession even though it requires a lot of research something that I don't really enjoy. I think its beneficial for me to help those who cannot help themselves.

2) what is something you accomplished this year that you are proud of?

I have not yet accomplished this yet, but I am glad to graduate. I may not be graduating with everyone, I will take the time during summer school to prepare myself more for college. Also, maintain focus in terms of being a student and one that is ready for the challenges that college are going to bring forth.

3) What was the nicest thing someone in our class did for you this year?

The nicest thing someone in our class has done is helped me catch up with schoolwork and the topics that I missed during that time. This person is Fransico Barrera. He is my partner and neighbor in the classroom and has always supported me in terms of understanding the material in the class. I really appreciate what he has done for me because if it wasn't for him I would have failed alot of quizzes and had more zeros in the grade book because of homework.

4) What was the most challenging part of this year?

I would say overall it was just being in school and finding the motivation I needed to do my work. I had a lot of health issues this year that prevented me from going to school like I wanted to, and a lot of the times I felt a hopelessness of even trying. I was getting frusterated with teachers and schoolwork to the point where I didn't want to put in effort into school anymore.

5) Where is your favorite place in our classroom or school and why?

I have a lot of favorite plaves in the school because my advisory has changed rooms over the course of the years. Obviously I don't have a favorite place because I favor the school as whole no matter if its a room I'm in or the staircase. I feel this way because I have millions of memories in every room because I have basically been in all the room to have some sort of memory it being good or bad.

6) If you could change one thing that happened this year what would it be?

One thing I would change this year is not get dropped from night school during second semester. This was frusterating for me because the second time I was absent it was because I was sick. According to the school, my health wasn't as important as night school so regardless they dropped me and to me that frustertated me a lot. I felt this way because the school always says they care about the students outside the class, but this time they failed to show that or understand that.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb