RIHLA #30


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
June 1st 2012
Published: June 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

1. What was the most challenging part of this year for you?

The most challenging part of this year was taking AP chemistry and AP calculus. These classes made me want to bang my head on my desk at times because I was trying to understand the material. I would say that the questions on the AP exam were a little more merciful than the class, but everything fell into place towards the end of the year. I'm glad it all did make sense.



2. What are three things you did this year to help your classmates?

When my classmates needed help, I provided help, especially for topics I understood well. One thing I did was that I stayed up late with some classmates to help out with chemistry and important essays. I also walked through topics that were confusing, and I stood around to support classmates through any other academic or emotional event.



3. What is something that was hard for you at the start of the year, but is easy now?

I think remembering my solubility rules was the hardest part of my year becuase I had to constantly chant the chart in my head. I had a super hard time trying to keep the rules fresh in my mind. During the exam, I was able to recall my rules.



4. In what area do you feel you made your biggest imporvements?

My biggest improvements were in calculus. I was trying to understand everything that was going on in the class, and my work on my homework suffered a little. I started going to office hours, and I asked questions about problems that really got on my nerves (means I couldn't get the answer within five minutes). Eventually, I was able to make sense of what I was doing, and I was able to do more problems than before.



5. Of the books you read this year, which was your favorite? Why?

My favorite book is stuck between two: "Wide Sargasso Sea" and "Nature of Blood". "Wide Sargasso Sea" was really appealing to me because the story's about a woman who had trouble keeping her identity and power alive. I also thought the book was great because the author gave a voice to Bertha from "Jane Eyre". "Nature of Blood" was more of a collage of events that were focused on Jewish history, and the book represents what history really is: a mess of different points of views.



6. What was the best piece of writing that you did this year? Why do you think this was your best?

The best piece I ever wrote was a response paper regarding the book "The Bride Price" by Buchi Emecheta. I argued that Aku-nna's relationship with the Ibo in Ibuza was a mirror image of Nigeria's relationship with Britain. I think the piece was the best I've ever written because I worked everyday on the paper, and I made sure I got the greatest amount of feedback possible. My efforts were rewarded with an A.



7. What person at our school has made the biggest impact in your life this year? Why?

Ms. Rosales had made the biggest impact on me this year. She made an impact on me all four years, actually. I know she's heard the same praise over and over, but the words are true. Ms. Rosales has been around since freshman year, and she's kept up with the insanity of my weird jokes and awkward moments. She was the perfect model of a strong woman; someone who I could look up to. I saw how strong she was, and I wanted to be strong, too. I saw how smart she was, I wanted to be smart like her, too. I saw how she made a difference in my life, and I want to forever appreciate it. Now I'm this new person who is very different from the day she walked into UICCP for the first time, and I have to thank Ms. Rosales for helping me become new. I want to show her that her work as my teacher and advisor has paid off by getting my degree and writing my first novel.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb