RHILIA #23


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
March 19th 2012
Published: March 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I believe in Getting back up.Back in 8th grade on January 6th 2008 I got my first guitar.That same day I put in the dvd that came along with the amp and guitar. I was getting the first five or six chords, really the basics, down and I felt I was going to become really good really fast. Unfortunately that wasn't the case; 1 week after mastering the beginner chords I moved up to playing intermediate chords. I couldn't get any of them and I began to get frustrated. Like most people, I gave up after only two weeks of starting. One day I was browsing the internet and came upon a youtube video that talked about beginner guitar rules. Two of the most important rules That I got from the video were the following: Any musician, in this case a guitarist, needs to be very patient. Patient because if someone tends to move to fast to play can easily get frustrated. I didn't have any patience, i wanted to play fast and learn quickly, and that lead to me giving up. The second rule that has stuck to me was "first Accuracy, Then Speed", at the time i didn't know what that meant, but it did inspire me to pick the guitar back up. I began to get the chords I couldn't get about 2 weeks after giving up. As I was learning I heard a saying that with at least 3 chords one can play just about any song. It came to show that this was true, i learned a song titled I Ran( So Far Away) by A Flock of Seagulls near the end of High school, freshman year. The song song contained 3 main chords: an F, a G, and an A, all which were intermediate chords. Since the day that I learned to play that song I have been doing nothing but getting better. Today I still follow the same two rules that are important to any musician and will continue to follow them. Its funny really looking back at how I struggled to play a simple chord, now Im struggling to play play arpeggios, or better known as guitar sweeps. This technique is hard and can get frustrating, but only this time Im taking my time, unlike the first time where I gave up to easily. Mbelieve in Getting back up.Back in 8th grade on January 6th 2008 I got my first guitar.That same day I put in the dvd that came along with the amp and guitar. I was getting the first five or six chords, really the basics, down and I felt I was going to become really good really fast. Unfortunately that wasn't the case; 1 week after mastering the beginner chords I moved up to playing intermediate chords. I couldn't get any of them and I began to get frustrated. Like most people, I gave up after only two weeks of starting. One day I was browsing the internet and came upon a youtube video that talked about beginner guitar rules. Two of the most important rules That I got from the video were the following: Any musician, in this case a guitarist, needs to be very patient. Patient because if someone tends to move to fast to play can easily get frustrated. I didn't have any patience, i wanted to play fast and learn quickly, and that lead to me giving up. The second rule that has stuck to me was "first Accuracy, Then Speed", at the time i didn't know what that meant, but it did inspire me to pick the guitar back up. I began to get the chords I couldn't get about 2 weeks after giving up. As I was learning I heard a saying that with at least 3 chords one can play just about any song. It came to show that this was true, i learned a song titled I Ran( So Far Away) by A Flock of Seagulls near the end of High school, freshman year. The song song contained 3 main chords: an F, a G, and an A, all which were intermediate chords. Since the day that I learned to play that song I have been doing nothing but getting better. Today I still follow the same two rules that are important to any musician and will continue to follow them. Its funny really looking back at how I struggled to play a simple chord, now Im struggling to play play arpeggios, or better known as guitar sweeps. This technique is hard and can get frustrating, but only this time Im taking my time, unlike the first time. I dont like giving up especilly when I something to get done.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb