RIHLA #23


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
March 18th 2012
Published: March 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This I believe....

I believe that music is powerful beyond measure and cannot be ignored or thrown away like an old record. This I believe because when I was first introduced to "oldies" by my father around the age of 10, I fell in love with the music's unchained melody. There was no withholding its sound or stopping it; I seen it as infinized revolution that would be heard through the echoes of time. Although my dad just introduced me to that specific music, I have taken a passion to know more about it espcially Doo Wop, Motown, and Rock & Roll. I hope to share this passion with the world so I may show them the light that music shines on all of us, and I have started this postive multigenerational change within my family from the grandparents to the nieces and nephews. Now, I have made oldies the signature genre we listen to at my house, and what's funny is that I am from Hispanic background, so my grandparents and mother have brought out their own oldies but in Spanish that relates to a lot of songs in English from their time Periods. It's good to have something you could passionately talk about or just enjoy with your family and friends. Aaron Copland once said, "To stop the flow of music would be like the stoping of time itself, incredible and inconceivable." This has stuck with me till now, and I have heard music from almost every time period and culture in time. Oldies specifically has touched me in a way that one can not explain with words but must feel with ears and heart. The decades of the early 50s to the late 70s is what I consider "oldies", and within those decades, genres like Doo Wops, Rock &Roll, and Motown were created. These three genres, all very similar, made American music what it is today, and has made life what it is today. Music that has meaning and infinite amount of feeling to it shows me the magnitude of its impact on the world because just like everyone that is human has feelings, has a meaning to this world that being anything from a school teacher to the leader of a country can feel something like music does.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.246s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb