Rihila #16


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
January 30th 2012
Published: January 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

1.) I suppose one accomplishment the i'm sure most highschool students have to fight to achieve is being in my own skin and being fully aware of who i am. The student at UIC (class of 2012) are for the most part nice. I'm friends with so many people. I don't like confrentation and i like to talk to a little bit of everybody. When you float around that much it is easy to loose track of who you actually are and what you stand for. That definatley happened during highschool. There a lot of choices i wouldn't have made if was simply being myself. I had to really try hard to stay focused on my school work, hang around the people i know are my real friends, and keep what i really want to make of my life insight. And after 3 and a half years I think i've got myself down. Check one off the lsit.

2.) I'm proud of myself because i've been doing good balancing so far, but i don't want to slip up. I have this poison mindset that syas if i'm doing something else productive it cancels out the other things i still have to do. for example i'll spend an entire day friending people that are attending DePaul on fb and asking them questions, practiceing the new piano piece i have to play for band, memorizing my lines for the musical, and reading. I'll do all of those things which are very productive and i need to do them, but i will do those things and never get to studying or the homework i have to do. I'll do the other things first because that is what i'm excited about. I get frustrated because in college i'll be able to opt. out of a lot of general classes or focus my classes around what i want to do, so i'll be excited about every thing, but right now i have to be really disciplined and make myself do the things i am not really interested in. I'll need a lot of encouragement to do it. I thrive off positive energy, so i need people to tell me or reassure me that i'm doing well to keep doing well...otherwise i just assume i'm failing. I count on my friends a lot for that. In the end i think i'll get through the semester fine, and my grades hopefully will be way better than last semester.

3.) I have a lot of goals for myself, but i f you want to go really big i have a goal i need to accomplish within my life time. I don't tell alot of people because ii don't know exactly how i will do it yet(i have some ideas but no sure plans) and i will not be able to do it alone. It sort of like the mother of all community service projects. Something i feel really passionate about is the state of Mexico and its government right now. Especially in Juarez. The drug cartels, the amount of people there dying, the fact that it use to be an amazing city really touches me. In the past i've wanted to create theater, arts, and music programs for children in other countries as kind of an alternative outlet, i've wanted to be involved in getting communties back together, and i'm big on church involvement in the community, and Juarez just kind of puts all that together. I want to basically make the city "livable" again. I want to get people involved and get people to care about what is going on in places other than where they live especially when that place is right in our backyard. This will obviously be a mountain because its hard to do and takes alot of time work and patience, but also because I will have to reach out to people and take initiative. I will have to not be afraid of being shot down or discouraged or disagreed with. I will have to be able to fight for what i believe in and not just be handed assistance because its a good idea. Those are things i'll have to find the strength within myself to do. My friends aren't too crazy about me moving to Juarez a couple years after college, but it needs to be done.



I know I talk a lot ms. Held. Sorry.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb