America


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
April 25th 2011
Published: April 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Really sorry this has taken so long for me to update but I've been a tad busy as of late trying to sort out my ear and other things that have manage to require some extreme reorganising. So incase anyone is out of synch, I have cancelled the ten week stay in the bahamas due to not being able to dive with a burst eardrum and edited my plans. Since I left LA I have visited San Francisco, the bahamas for a week with the parents, New York, and I am currently in Chicago staying with my lovely godfather and family.
San Fran was amazing and by far my favourite american city that I have seen. The place is just so relaxed and open and there is so much to do there. Wandering the streets getting lost was one of my favourite activities, as i regularly stumbled along sights such as Lombard street (most crooked street in the world, even though its actually the second most crooked street in the world, Vincent street being the most crooked. But who cares) The golden gate bridge was amazing even though the bike ride from town was much more tiring than i was imagining. Luckily the fog held off and it was in fact a glorious day. Alcatraz was equally impressive even though it was a lot smaller than i expected. The hostel that i was staying in was really good and managed to meet a lot of really cool people there. Thank god I bought a fake id in bangkok, which worked every single night not only in san fran but also in new york and madison. Some of the english guys i meet in the hostel were heading to a basketball game, so i tagged along and managed to get tickets for only $20. However like most american sports it was very stop start and me and adam kept falling asleep so we called it a day at half time. After 4 nights in san fran I headed back to LA to stay a few more days with the lovely Bush's, with a few more days in LA i headed to Hollywood to do the typical touristy celebrity tours before my flight to the bahamas to join up with the parents for a week on the beach.
The bahamas was really nice, and also a nice opportunity to see the parents and brother after 3 months away. We managed to coincide with the end of some spring breakers which provided some entertainment for me and rich. luckily for the parents sanity they left on our second day and so the rest of the week was much more chilled out and tanning was the primary activity. So after a relatively uneventful but very nice week in the bahamas I flew off to New York for 4 nights in the city that never sleeps.
Unfortunatlely the hostel that I had booked to stay in resembled something of a dodgy crack den and so after one miserable wet cold night I managed to get into a different hostel in Harlem and moved there first thing the next morning. In the mean time i explored New york, seeing everything from the top of the Rockerfellar centre, the empire state building at night (when it was completely deserted by 1am so i had the observation deck to myself), fifth avenue, the statue of liberty, ellis island, Times square (which i somehow ended up walking through every day), and many others areas. On the whole I really enjoyed New York but it still couldnt compare to San Francicso, which is going to take some beating to be honest.
So after a few hectic nights in New York i borded the train to chicago, which was supposed to take 19 hours and ended up taking a mere 22hours. Again this reinforced my view that children under the age of 13 should be allowed transport of any type, not helped when the mother decides to feed them sweets and then get annoyed when they get rowdy! anyway rant over, eventually got to the Pattersons and the most comfy bed ive had in a while. The next day I hopped on the bus to go and see Olivia who is at the University of Madison Wisconsin. A pretty heavy night with a her and some of her sorority friends followed and luckily her roomate was out of town so I was snuck into the sorority as long as i avoided the house mum. Luckily i managed as the house was relatively empty due to everyone going home for easter weekend. Olivia and I headed back to chicago the next day with relatively sore heads to be back for easter sunday with the Pattersons. A lovely weekend with the Pattersons with plently of chocolate.
So Im currently planning my stay in south america with my flight leaving on wednesday for two months.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb