Towers


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
December 14th 2004
Published: December 14th 2004
Edit Blog Post

DormDormDorm

Dorm
14th December
Checked into HIChicago along with a zillion school kids. Feeling half dead from Jetlag I could do no more than shower and sleep.
15th Sears Tower
I'd been walking around in the loop not being able to work out which the Sears tower was, so figured I best go up. From the sky you know your way higher than surrounding buildings.
I hadnt appricated just how big Chicago is, flying in over the lake had been amazing, the sun was setting it was just beautiful, whilst the expanse of water was just huge I didnt get a handle on what size the city would be. From the sky the buildings seemingly go on forever.
16th John Hancock Tower
After going to the Aquarium(see later entry) I decided to give tall buildings another go. The view from the John Hancock was fantastic, much better views of the waterfront and of course of the downtown area. The highlight for me though was the toy trains in the lobby.
The shopping area around the tower was frantic and full. Lots of girls being treated to American Girl dolls. Having finished my shopping a while ago and not hanging around for the event
TrainTrainTrain

Train at John Hancock Tower
it was a strange reminder of what I had escaped.
17th John Hancock again
As my batteries had died whilst up the tower and stupidly no replacements in my bag I revisited for a night view.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Chicago from Sears TowerChicago from Sears Tower
Chicago from Sears Tower

Chicago from Sears Tower
Chicago from John HancockChicago from John Hancock
Chicago from John Hancock

Chicago from John Hancock Tower
NightNight
Night

Nightime John Hancock view


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb