The Beginning of the End


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
April 23rd 2008
Published: April 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I apologize for my absence in your lives yesterday. We’re busy finishing shows and getting packed and figuring out who is going where.

Yesterday, we had a school show and a real show. Jessica flew in to record the real one. Unfortunately, this was a Union house, so we didn’t have a ton of time to work on getting it all set up because of required breaks and whatnot. The morning show was pretty crappy. The kids were exhausted, the monitors went out in the finale, which is a track number, so they were super flat. Right at the beginning of it, Sarah jumps on Com. “Standby lights. Prossy is in a red t-shirt.” A: What am I supposed to do about it? B: What!?!?! She forgot she had to do the last song and went and changed. She started singing from off stage as she’s whipping on one of the girls’ skirts from a different song (Beth’s great idea). Oh my. We were rolling; the kids were distracted; no one was singing near on tune! I thought the kids were going to fall over during it all.

The afternoon was spent verbally prepping for what later would hold. As we were hooking up the two consoles, there was a lot to do, but only a few people who knew how to do it and only some of them could be done simultaneously. I got to help some, but there just weren’t things I could do. Lots of work. The house sound guy was not to keen on me, so I mostly tried to stay out of his way.

The evening show rocked the house! A great way to end the tour. For the first time in a while, ALL of the kids looked like they were having a ton of fun. Very fun to watch, and a great note to end on. The sang and danced their hearts out. After the show, everyone collapsed.

Technically, I had my own room, but Sarah and I wanted to bond on possibly our last night together for a while, so she slept in my room. We stayed up far to late talking, and I woke up far too early. She wrote a song about us while she was in the shower. She, Kyle and I had breakfast together, then all the kids came and joined us.

This was the beginning of the end.

The beginning of the end of our time together, as a crew, as a trio, as a tour, as a Choir.

We continued on to the venue to do our final show, a school show. It went really well, followed by an extended strike to pack everything to go to the shop. During one of the final songs, most of the adults went out on stage in skirts and danced with the kids, and Ruthie went all the way back to the booth to dance with Uncle Kyle. Very fun. I’ll post pics soon. Kyle and Craig left in a hurried goodbye (we had to be out of the dock by a certain time) for NY with the gear. Kyle was rushed with the kids, rushed with us. “I hate goodbyes.” But he keeps telling us to get used to saying goodbye kids, as he’s done it several times. Not fun.

Traveling for us. Stopped in Chicago. Going to Willow tonight with Chris! He should be here any minute. Tomorrow is another travel day.

Oh, by the way, for those of you who thought I’d come on tour ad somehow gain any sense of being on tune or rhythm, sorry to disappoint you.

Advertisement



24th April 2008

WELCOME HOME
JAMI IT WILL BE GREAT TO HAVE YOU HOME BUT I HAVE TO AGREE WITH YOUR MOM THAT YOU NEED TO KEEP BLOGGING SO WE CAN KEEP UP WITH WHAT YOU ARE UPTO. I LOVE YOU GRAMMA

Tot: 0.268s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb