Jim Colyer in Chicago


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
January 5th 2008
Published: January 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

November, 1974 - Chicago

I drove to Chicago to see Burton Cummings & The Guess Who. It was funny because the concert was in an auditorium and somewhat formal. I lit a cigar, and an usher came and made me put it out. I saw The Guess Who 3 times, 1974-75. Their music inspired me to return to school and get my degrees.


June, 1966 - Chicago

Cousin Larry and I were talking after having watched "The Avengers" on TV. We got the idea of driving to Chicago. We took off in the night. In Chicago, we drove along Lake Shore Drive and saw State Street. We went to an old time burlesque show. We ran out of ideas and headed home. I had read Theodore Dreiser's novel, Sister Carrie, about a girl who went to Chicago to find work. One must have a mission if he is to travel. Chicago sits on Lake Michigan.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 28; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb