Pre-Departure


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
August 23rd 2007
Published: August 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Chicago!



I am currently at orientation in Chicago with the other international Young Adult Volunteers (of the PC (USA) church) and the Young Adult s in Global Mission (of the Lutheran church). The week has been needed since the time at home right before leaving was understandibly very hectic. I have been amazed how I've handled this whole process (or rather not thought about it until now), starting from back in April when I was selected to go to the Philippines as an Ecumenical Intern for the United Church of Christ of the Philippines as a Young Adult Volunteer. I didn't take in the immensity of the coming year, instead I was mostly relieved to find that I finally had an answer to the often asked, “Do you have plans after graduation?” This past summer kept me from absorbing the year too; time was spent working, fundraising for my $10,000 expenses (which I am still doing), and completing paperwork for the year, which did not allow for any downtime. Finally, I hastily said goodbyes to friends and family last weekend and boarded my plane to Chicago. When I got here, I was first distracted by seeing everyone again (we met at the interviewing weekend in April) and getting settled after a long day of delays and travel. When I went to bed in the dorm on Sunday night though, it hit me like a freight train: I committed myself to work for a third world country for a year. Wow. Holy cow. I have spent the days since Sunday night riding the roller coast of emotions. I have felt everything: panic attacks and calming peace; excitment and anxiousness; confidence and doubtfulness; strength and weakness. I come to the conclusion that I am doing exactly what I want to do with my life and that I want this life to push me. Well, frankly is scares me right now but there is excitement in that; I am leading the life I want and it will challenge me.

Since orientation, I have learned that my placement will be on the island of Mindanao, the large southern island. There is a good deal politically occuring there right now and I am excited to see where exactly I will be working and what excatly that work will be. My year in the Philippines has a specific breakdown. When I leave Chicago next Monday and fly to Manila, the capital, I will begin 6 weeks of in-country orientation, after which I'll head to my site. I will be in my site until just after the New Year. At that point, I will meet with my fellow program participants (there are 4 others) and my country coordinator in a designated location to share and debrief for ten days. I am then allowed 10 days of vacation. When vaction time is done, I return to my site for another 3 months. This cycle continues every 3 months until the end of the year. This is basically all I know about the upcoming year, but there is surprisingly comfort in just trusting that I will roll with whatever comes my way.

After working through the range of emotions (or rather the first cycle of them), I can say that I am excited to see what this coming year holds for me (both the good and not-so-good). For now, I am spending my last few days in the States indulging in my American food favorites and resting as much as I can. I will write more when I am settled in Manila!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb